floridatjej

Alla inlägg under juni 2010

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 16:44


The Quilt palace had a sale on 5 inch charm squares, so I bought 2 packages of patriotic USA fabrics. I purchased 2, and inside was a very easy pattern on how to sew and cut to make squares on point. Amazingly easy, so I went back for 2 more packages, and pieced them all together with sashing to make a queen-size quilt.
   
  Buttons is the self appointed quality controller.

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 15:30


At a show I visited I was so impressed with the fabulous landscape quilts and decided to give it a try.  I had an idea brewing in my head while I collected every fat quarter with fish I could find. I cut and fused pieces,
than free motion quilted
this is the final result.  It measures 27x33
   

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 15:11

I have now discovered that there's gazillion of gadgets for quilters, and quite expensive too, so I try very hard to resist, but this ruler was a must have. Makes it very quick and easy to cut triangles, the disadvantage is................makes only one size .....  

    Have not done anything with this gadget yet, other than these two test squares 

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 15:02

On a shopping trip to IKEA, I laid eyes on a cookie cutter in the shape of a moose. I immediately started to envision a quilt similar to my Dala Horse, and here it is. Moose is älg in Swedish so I named the quilt moose cookies..... size is 55x45

moose hunting anyone ?

   

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 14:53


Time to give appliqué a try, so I used a cookie cutter I had featuring  the national symbol of Sweden, the Dala horse.
I appliquéd on denim, and also used denim as backing. It only measures 65x45, but the denim made it quite heavy.
After starting to read quilting magazines I discovered that it's a good idea to label all quilts, and name them, so I used the embroidery feature and made a crooked label..  
   

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 14:51


My hair dresser bought this bag, but I have a feeling she only bought it because she wanted to make sure I'll be her client forever, and I thought maybe she'll generate more customers, so I gave it to her for the cost of fabric...............you never know..
   

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 14:17


Vera Bradley bags are so incredibly popular here. Every lady over 40 is carrying one, and they are expensive. I borrowed one from a neighbor and looked closely inside and out, it's not much to them, but of course she has her own fabric patterns, and she's famous.
For fun I decided to make a few bags, hoping to sell them one day, but I'm no good at the selling part, and maybe I put too much work into them to make it worth it......................oh well.......it was fun sewing them.
           
I made magnetic closing, and it has a hard bottom with little feet so the bag stands up. Plenty of pockets to keep thing organized

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 13:59


I never know what to give my favorite great grandma for Christmas. At a shop I met a lady carrying a bag with pictures of her grandchildren, that she proudly showed of. Good idea I thought, but the problem is that my favorite granny has 26 grandchildren and great-grandchildren, so I decided to make a quilt with all their faces, so she can wrap herself in their love on a chilly day.
I included my dog Buttons, and embroider the names and year to get even squares.
 
This is not finished, and for some reason I forgot to take a picture of the final result before I sent to Granny.........oh well.

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards