floridatjej

Direktlänk till inlägg 6 juli 2015

MONDAY MORNING

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 6 juli 2015 06:57

To all of you that have written to Mom and told her to contiune to help me write, I say THANK YOU, and you'll get a licking when I get home.

So, we left Jukkasjärvi and the melted ice hotel, and continued south towards Moms and Lottas puppytown , still too far to make in one day, so we stopped for one night in Gällivare. There it was raining cats and dogs ???? grass was soaked and hughe puddles everywhere...........no fun for sightseeing, so we stayed in Lucy and continued in the morning........

Here we are at the artic circle.....................almost home Mom says

 

 

 

I did hear some talk about going back to Norway, and that means more ferries...........please please I pleaded .........they are so scary...........I think I won this battle....

 

  o

We stopped at a very nice place by a river for "fika" and they had caught some char, that they grilled over open fire. Mom and Lotta salivated over it. I tasted it, but wasn't all that impressed.

 

    


Weather is getting nice, but still pretty cold at night ..........easy to deal with just bundle up ............what's hard for Mom is the mosquitoes that's so plentiful they are sucking all the blood out of her so she's at risk of fainting.............well, that's the drama queen speaking..........I have no problem with them....... 

 

  


We finally arrive at Mom's cousins house, and Lotta took the bus back south to Stockholm, which means I got my seat back.................yiiiipppiieeee..............s
till miss her tough...........sometimes she was nice enough to let me sit in her lap, and that was very cozy

 

 

when we got closer to Cousin's house I recognized myself and was so happy I could hardly contain myself. I love her yard and the freedom to roam. The views are awesome, the cows bark all night, and there’s 2 meatball factories not far. ( not allowed there tough) 
 
     
 
Lucy was completely covered in crushed bugs, so Mom spent several days cleaning and waxing Lucy, and she finally got her nametag and flags. ( where are the American flags ? )  She’s named after St.Lucia, since she was purchased on Dec.13 which is Lucia day in Sweden. Her last name, Knaus is her birth name.
 
   
 
I have one more favorite place here in Moms puppy town, and that is here............It's Vanja and Lizzes house..........and where our trip started this time. Picture is from a month ago and is the reason for no flowers.
 
 
 
This time the weather is quite pleasant so we got invited to eat “ surströmming” in their gazebo............( you have to be inside a mosquito net, or else )
Let me tell you about this dish ...........my sensitive nose got an overload on aroma. They’re eating canned sour fish ??? and Mom have a problem when I eat little tootsie rolls from Lilly ??
 

It is a fermented Baltic Sea herring that has been a staple of traditional Northern Swedish cuisine since at least the 16th century.

Just enough salt is used to prevent the raw fish from rotting (chemical decomposition). A fermentation process (which converts sugar to acids, gases, and alcohol) of at least six months gives the lightly-salted fish its characteristic strong smell and somewhat acidic taste.

When opened, the contents release a strong and sometimes overwhelming odour; the dish is ordinarily eaten outdoors. According to a Japanese study, a newly opened can has one of the most putrid food smells in the world.

The Baltic herring, is smaller than the Atlantic herring, found in the North Sea, and fished in the brackish waters of the Baltic sea.The herring used for “surströmming” are caught just prior to spawning

They eat in on potatoes and bread, garnish with lots of onion and tomatoes..................

 
 

      

This is a Curlew bird that we always welcomed in spring, they are endangered  and we don't see them as often as we did as kids...........this is a lucky shot.

     

 

Well, I think I'm caught up on my travel log, this is where wee have been staying for the last 2 days, not far from Moms puppytown. I think we'll leave today, but I'm not sure...........I'll keep you updated for sure..................wet kisses from Buttons..............Mom says hello

 

 

 


Oh, and here's a midsummer picture of us

 

   

 

and here's a classmate to Mom that I have rapped around my paw.................

 

 

 


 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 september 2023 08:44

We are getting ready for the long flight back to Florida tomorrow so Mom isn't giving me any time for my story but here are some pictures from Stockholm where we are staying until tomorrow. According to Mom, this is the cleanest city we visited. and ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2023 17:03

 We have been having many sluggish days lately, it's been raining, and Mom was in the mood for a meal she used to love as a puppy. so she's been cooking a real meal for a change. It was very tasty but Mom seemed to have difficulties cooking for one p...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 augusti 2023 19:35

We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise at 4.45 AM It's definitely getting closer to  fall because it's getting dark at night now     Yes, Mom kept her promise and we stayed for a second night at the marina, and on the second day, we had lunch there....

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 augusti 2023 16:41

It hasn't been easy to get Mom to help me with my story, because now Mom got a book that completely mesmerized her. The author is from her puppy town and the story is about a woman's life and struggles to live in Northern Sweden from 1896 to 1985. ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 augusti 2023 08:12

Ever since we arrived in Mom's puppy town she's been sleeping later and later in the mornings, this morning she didn't get up until 7.30, that's a record. I think she's reminiscing back to her teens? Here I'm running after the ball at the same fiel...

Skapa flashcards