floridatjej

Direktlänk till inlägg 24 augusti 2015

MONDAY MORNING

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2015 06:57

Now we're in a place I've been to several times before, I jumped out of Lucy and ran the fastest I could, hoping the door be open, and yes it was......................so here I come and straight to the fridge..........I didn't even have to use my hypnotizing powers.............Mom was so surprised and shaky she couldn't even hold the camera still.............

 


YES.....we are in the smallest village that smells a little funky, and that's because of a factory that employs 170 people and produce  bleached and unbleached kraft pulp. Town is  ASPA BRUK, and the pulp production started here in 1927

 

Mom spent a lot of time here as a puppy, and this time we were lucky to invite ourselves straight to a 70ies birthday party..............they served a sandwich cake, a typical Swedish tradition. It's the birthday boys daughter that's cutting the cake. Mom didn't give me anything to eat, but I was handed goodies when she wasn't looking, lucky for me, I could have starved to death........

 

 

Another Swedish tradition this time of the year is having crayfish parties , a tradition that started because crayfish harvesting in Sweden was, for most of the 20th century, legally limited to late summer. Today, the premier date in early August has no legal significance. Dining is traditionally outdoors, but in practice the party is often driven indoors by bad weather or aggressive mosquitoes. Customary party accessories are comical paper hats, paper tablecloths, paper lanterns (often depicting the Man in the Moon), and bibs. A rowdy atmosphere prevails amid noisy eating and traditional drinking songs . The alcohol consumption is often high, especially when compared to the amount of food actually eaten. It is considered customary to suck the juice out of the crayfish before shelling it.

Here Birgitte is showing some of their catch before cooking

 


Following day we came along to harvest the traps they had put out, and Lennart was the captain of the boat............

 

I nominated myself to the " First mate", and I heard no objections................not that I would care...

 

Here is a Beaver nest, and I looked and looked, but nobody home...............maybe they too were out looking for crayfish...........

A rowdy Beaver crayfish party would be fun to attend..........

 

 

There weren't many in the traps, and some were too small to keep, they had to be a minimum of 10 cm. 

about 4 inches

     

Since I was first mate, I had to keep an eye on everything, to make sure it was done correctly............

 

     

 

Mom didn't do one iota to help out, she just sat there and sunned herself ..............and sometimes restricted me from doing my work...........

 

back to the marina, and I tink Mom was relieved, since she get seasick in a bathtub

 

 


It was a gorgeous sunny day with not a cloud on the sky, but poff, all of the sudden water all over the car and a rainbow ??? ..........................Birgitte had driven through some strange kind of carwash that was put up for the people in the village....

 

 

Backat the house I finally got to say hello to the house cat.................she's Ok, but no Lilly

 

   

Sun is somewhere else today, so I suppose it'll be a "read a book in bed day"

 

later alligator

 

 

 

 


 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 september 2023 08:44

We are getting ready for the long flight back to Florida tomorrow so Mom isn't giving me any time for my story but here are some pictures from Stockholm where we are staying until tomorrow. According to Mom, this is the cleanest city we visited. and ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2023 17:03

 We have been having many sluggish days lately, it's been raining, and Mom was in the mood for a meal she used to love as a puppy. so she's been cooking a real meal for a change. It was very tasty but Mom seemed to have difficulties cooking for one p...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 augusti 2023 19:35

We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise at 4.45 AM It's definitely getting closer to  fall because it's getting dark at night now     Yes, Mom kept her promise and we stayed for a second night at the marina, and on the second day, we had lunch there....

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 augusti 2023 16:41

It hasn't been easy to get Mom to help me with my story, because now Mom got a book that completely mesmerized her. The author is from her puppy town and the story is about a woman's life and struggles to live in Northern Sweden from 1896 to 1985. ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 augusti 2023 08:12

Ever since we arrived in Mom's puppy town she's been sleeping later and later in the mornings, this morning she didn't get up until 7.30, that's a record. I think she's reminiscing back to her teens? Here I'm running after the ball at the same fiel...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards