floridatjej

Alla inlägg den 6 juni 2016

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 6 juni 2016 10:58

Saturday we arrived at Moms Aunts house and they sit around and talk and talk and talk both with their knittings, Aunt making socks that she donates, and what Mom is making I'm not sure.

 

 

 

It's very beautiful here, and yesterday we went for a very long walk, almost 5 miles, and Mom was so surprised I made it all the way. Once I laid down to rest so Mom carried me for a little while, but she says I'm too heavy so I continued on my own.

 

       

It was a very nice walk the view was amazing, and I met this herd of sheep that was so curious checking me out. Mom said the fence was electric so she held me back from going to visit.

 

   

 

People here decorate their mailboxes, some very different and fun looking

 

I'm wondering if this is an Evil Knievel in training place? you have to start early if you're going to be any good Mom says.

 

 

 

We were walking on a trail for training dogs, and here was a bar to jump up on  and balance, easy peasy I say, but it was way to tall for me to jump up on. 

 

Weather is nice and sunny, but it's freezing with temperatures between 40 and 50. but as long as it isn't raining there's always more sweaters, and in Lucy we have the heater on in the evenings. 

Mom's peppers froze in the fridge, and so did all her veggies. Guess when it's cold outside she better turn it down a tad.

 

This morning aunt and Mom once again went for a long walk, but I was put on Lucy watch wich I didn't mind at all since my paws still were exhausted from yesterday. Mom thought I was limping a tad, but I was just stiff and are feeling much better now. I am risking getting a bath later on because I've been running around in the woods, and Mom says I'm better than Hoover vacuum to suck up all the branches and dirt there is.

   


Today is Swedens national day, but you hardly notice, because it's not celebrated as we do it in the USA on July 4th. Swedes have not celebrated this day for very long, so I guess people don't know what to do. Prior to 1983, the day was celebrated as the Swedish flag day. At that time, the day was renamed to the national day by the Riksdag.
The tradition of celebrating this date began 1916 at the Stockholm Olympic Stadium, in honor of the election of King Gustav Vasa in 1523, as this was considered the foundation of modern Sweden.

Some question the validity of this as a national holiday, as it was not observed as a holiday until decades later. However this event does signify the end of the Danish-ruled Kalmar Union, so in a sense it is a marking of Swedish independence, though the event occurred so long ago that it does not have as strong of a presence in the social consciousness as does, for example, Norway's 17 May

In 2005 it became an official Swedish public holiday, replacing Whit Monday. This change led to fewer days off from work (more working days) as 6 June will periodically fall on the weekend, unlike Whit Monday, which was always celebrated on a Monday. This has in turn, led to complaints from some Swedish unions.

Wonder if Dad and Lilly knows to haul the Swedish flag today ? 

 

 

ALL IS WELL

BUTTONS






 

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards