floridatjej

Alla inlägg den 22 juli 2017

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 22 juli 2017 05:55

First off I want to apologize to all our friends following us. I have begged and pleaded to Mom to help me write, I even barked a few times, to no avail. She says since we're back in Sweden now there's not much to write about it's just same old same old..............I don't understand that at all

 Now finally this will change since yesterday Mom received a letter from Poppy's parents.

Poppy is the Brittish Jack Russell I made friends with in southern Germany at the beginning of our vacation. Mom got a little worried at the possibility to receive a bill from them, so she quickly complied.


Hello again EvaLena and Buttons

 

 I am writing to complain that I have not seen any activity on Eva, Lucy and Buttons blog and am now suffering withdrawal symptoms. 

 

I have spoken to my therapist and he tells me I have been over exposed to extreme adventure and it will take several weeks of intense sessions to cure me.

 Since your blog did not carry any health warnings of this side effect, I feel I have no option other than to hold you responsible and forward you our bill....  

 Otherwise, we both hope you all are really well and ended your journey safely and fully revitalized.

 Kindest regards

 

Jude, Malcolm, and Poppy

 

Now I know how to persuade Mom in the future, 

After we left Lotta's house we continued to drive north west back to almost where we started. Stopped for lunch we all of a sudden saw a boat sailing on a field.

 

That is the Göta Canal constructed in the early 19th century. It formed the backbone of a waterway stretching some 614 km (382 mi), linking a number of lakes and rivers to provide a route from Gothenburg on the west coast to Stockholm on the Baltic sea.

The canal itself is 190 km (120 mi) long, of which 87 km (54 mi) were dug or blasted, with a width varying between 7–14 m (23–46 ft) and a maximum depth of about 3 m (9.8 ft). It has 58 locks and can accommodate vessels up to 32 m (105 ft) long, 7 m (23 ft) wide and 2.8 m (9.2 ft) in

Parts of the canal are still used to transport cargo, but it is now primarily used as a tourist and recreational attraction, dubbed Sweden's Blue Ribbon.The canal is ironically referred to as the "divorce ditch" from the troubles that couples have to endure while trying to navigate the narrow canal and the many locks by themselves. 

 

 


As we have done every year we stopped in a small town where Mom spent a lot of time as a puppy and visited old friends. The were BBQing and chatting all night long

   

I knew who will the most likely to share some goodies from her plate so I made sure my seat would be next to Mrs. Sorensen

 

 


Mom loaned her apron to the master chef who did a great job.


 


Mom's puppy friend didn't give me any cookies or anything from his plate at all, he was too busy with those cans they all drank from.

 


following day I spent watching Lucy again since they all went to a car show. Lots of American cars that I've seen so many of before so I was quite happy to take a nap.


                         


Moms dad had a car like this, and I have never seen one in US, it's an Opel made in Germany


 


Mom really wanted to ask this Swede if he had a clue at all? but figured it'll be no use since most likely he didn't 


 


This is gross ................


 


There was also hundreds of motorcycles there

 


The further North we go, we'll get more and more mosquitoes and this is what Swedes consider a survival kit, but Lotta said the cigarettes were missing. I'm glad Mom don't agree with her. ( Mygga is mosquito repellant) 


 



After a couple of days here we continued North to visit our friends where we started again. Pretty tricky of Mom going to places where we get fed so she doesn't have to cook....

They took us out on a great boat ride on the river.......

   

 

In Borlänge is Sweden's most recognized log building, Ornässtugan. It will remain in its original location.

Loft building belonged to a wealthy miner and was included in an enclosed courtyard formation. The lower floor served as storage and the top as a guest house. The loft has many intriguing traces of folklore.

     

according to folk lore, you're supposed to hug this tree to get peace in your soul, Mom didn't

 

 

 


In the evening we visited a lady that owned 2 cats, one hid the entire time I was there. This guy was very curious and watched my every move. 

 


after a few days eating and drinking here, we kept on further North and now we're going to Mom's aunts birthday party. It's a long drive so we spent one night parked in the woods. Mom thought it was so awesome, quiet and peaceful, but I was very suspicious and didn't want to leave Lucy which Mom couldn't understand at all. I tried to explain I'm a city boy and she didn't pick up this peculiar scent as I did.


 


This sign says penguins and camels are as rare as garbage men here, so do take your trash with you.


 


Ok, that's all the update I have, nothing overly exciting, but still an update..............today it's the birthday party and after that, we'll be continuing further North. Weather not great, it's raining as usual and no warmer than 50 degrees

Last night it was thundering horribly which scares me, but we're safe and warm inside Lucy so there's no complaining.

All is well 

 

 

 

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards