floridatjej

Alla inlägg den 28 juli 2017

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 28 juli 2017 12:04

Nothing to tell is once again the excuse Mom is giving me and my protests don't seem to matter anymore...........Oh well, I guess I have to settle with the little time I do get.

We spent a few days at Mom's aunt and her birthday party, where Mom got to meet a lot of relatives which was great for her. It was pretty good for me too because I managed to smooch a few goodies from the guests.

Last day there they ate that smelly fish which I have smelled before and trust me it's a very unpleasant smell.............and that's coming from ME ? Mom says .............not sure what she means about that.

 

This is a type of fermented Baltic sea herring and is smaller than the Atlantic Sea herring.The herring used for surströmming are caught just prior to spawning.

During the production of surströmming, just enough salt is used to prevent the raw herring from rotting. A fermentation process for at least six months gives the fish a characteristic strong smell and somewhat acidic taste. According to a Japanese study, a newly opened can of surströmming has one of the most putrid food smells in the world, stronger than similarly fermented fish dishes from Korea and Japan.

You eat in on a kind of Matza bread with boiled potatoes, butter, chopped onions tomatoes and sour cream...........

Here's a perfect "klamma"

 

Following day we continued driving north, and all you see is trees and more trees, again a good time to nap. Since Mom also thought we should take it slow, we stopped at our favorite camp site in Vilhelmina.

This is our third time here and it's great to see the owners who are so nice and service minded.

Here things work on the honor system, you want an ice cream? take it and you put the money in a box, if you want to use the washing machine there's a fee, just put the money in the box. It's a real "feel good" place Mom says, and I agree.


   


I met this smiling girl there

 


Many rest stops have this kind of BBQs for people traveling. Lokals chop wood and leave for everyone to use.

The people in the north believe in slowing down and enjoy the nature and that's really cool

 


We have been to this village before, I remember that moose standing in front of the grocery store.........

       


We didn't have many more miles to go to stop at another relatives hose a little further north so Mom made several stops to look around, and this stop is a camping place where you have close to fishing which the other place also have so it'll be hard to choose next time.


       


I met this cute girl there, same age as me .............she has potential I say


 


in the afternoon we arrived at another relative to Mom and they hunt and fish for most of their food so in the evening they BBQed moose which was delicious.

This is Maria, the chef in charge and a totally awesome cook.

 


Their dogs are hunting dogs so they stay outside a lot and bark a lot, drives Mom nuts............haha........they were both nice to me. I walked up to them to say hello and they treated me with all the respect a senior deserves.


     


Second evening the appetizer was smoked moose hart, and yessssss I did get to taste a small corner, it was very tasty. Mom never ate this before and was a little suspicious but she really liked it too.

 


The main course was a lasagna that was outta this world made with moose meat, and for dessert fried rhubarb with ice cream and cookie crumbs. Mom ate way way way to much so she better get on a diet soon.


We have a great view here and it never get dark at night.............all is well


   






Skapa flashcards