floridatjej

Alla inlägg den 17 juli 2020

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 17 juli 2020 04:43

As we're sitting in the swing on the porch I heard a noise I never heard before, I stayed alert in case I have to defend Mom from whatever owns that moo grunt sound?

I know Mom heard it too but didn't seem one iota concerned so I decided to stop worrying about it but as we're leaving in the morning Mom stopped and rolled down the window and said: this is what made that noise last night.

Wow, those puppies are BIG, not sure I could have defended me against those giants. They gave me the shakes

On March 1, 1872, Yellowstone became the first national park for all to enjoy the unique hydrothermal and geologic wonders. From their energetic sounds and interesting aromas, mud pots and fumaroles provide some of the richest experiences for the senses.  

we entered the park at the North entrance and the first stop was at Mammoth Hot Spring. We are now at 5314 ft(1620m) 


   


No dogs were allowed on the boardwalks and that was fine with me because that water is hot. I watched the car (took a nap) while Mom climbed those stairs.

           



the first town we came to was Norris, and there had been a fire at a restaurant the day before and it was still smoldering and town smelled like smoke

 


we took a quick walk to look around but nothing was open because we were too early...as well I thought we don't need all the souvenir trinkets anyway.


     


A river ran through the town and we walked out on the bridge a bit, 

   

since we couldn't camp inside the park we drove to the west entrance to spend the night. As soon as it get light in the morning we'll be going back into the park to make another loop and hopefully see Old Faithful.

This park is big but we only made the upper loop today which is only 70 miles (113km). Still, it took all day because Mom drove slowly so we don't miss anything and we made at least 100 stops........I didn't go out on all stops I felt perfectly fine where I was laying. 

I definitely didn't go outside when Mom stopped for these beasts,,,,,,,

     


at the last waterfall, I did take a walk and met my cousin...

   


more pictures from the park

       


We did go for a walk in the town we are in now, but again, it's stores are wall to wall tourist trinkets Tshirt Time to rest so we get going early says Mom 

Good Night

 

















Av EvaLena Hallgren - 17 juli 2020 00:45

I know I'm a day behind now, but if Mom doesn't get too sleepy I'll try to catch up. We were in Yellowstone all-day today and it's gorgeous. I'm not allowed on the boardwalks and trails but it's ok because the view from the window is pretty good too. A few times Mom left me alone for a few minutes to take pictures and I'm ok with that because it doesn't get too hot in the car now.

Yesterday morning we left a town named Livingstone, which Mom thought was about 1 hour from Yellowstone. She was wrong it was more like 2,5 hours.

Anyway, it's so crowded here and most campsites are closed due to the virus so you have to make reservations even for a tent spotMom called a place called Paradise (sounds pretty good right?) The lady that answered took a while and said: yes I have ONE spot left, so Mom said we take it. Lady wanted Moms name and that's when it got really difficult 

Lady didn't get it, so Mom started with Edvard, Victor, Adam Lenny, and so on, the lady still didn't get it and Mom looked at the GPS that it was 14 min away. She told the lady we'll be there in 15 min.so please keep the spot........she didn't. She said she couldn't save the spot without a credit card??  Mom was too tired to argue so we got a cabin instead. It was cute but no bedding, only a mattress with thick plastic, our car is more comfortable, Anyway, it was 42 F (6C)when we woke up so we quickly continued our travel and MOm said Halllelujaaaaa for heated seats.

 

 

 

this was the view from the porch



and the campsite was next to a beautiful river, these boats had no engine, and kind of rough stream Mom wondered how they planned to row upstream, 

   

a little birdie entertained us

   


we thought it was about an hour to the entrance of the park, but it turned out closer to 2 ...with all the pitstops for pictures and tinkles 

   


we are getting closer


   


Mom loved these lawn ornaments and wish she could bring them home to our house...........sure that'll go over real well with our HOA I say.... haha exactly she said .............??

     


It's 5,30 and we are going out in town to find something to eat...................I hope MOm will have the strength to help me continue our travel story when we get back...........she's been awfully tired at nights lately...


Later alligtor



Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards