floridatjej

Direktlänk till inlägg 25 juli 2020

SATURDAY CONTINUED 7/25

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 25 juli 2020 15:46

so in order to catch up to where we are now, I got Mom to keep on writing after her coffee and my whizz 

This is why I'm on the shitlist for awhile .............................hmmm I thought mom was over it already? 

I've been chewing on the straw to her water bottle too ..................at least she got over that 

 

we are now ready to leave this mountain motel where we stayed 2 nights, very reasonable and VERY clean which is super important to my Mom. I even got a bath here ...............she claimed I was dirty too??

 

it still a little cloudy over the mountain area but Mom says we'll be ok, we can't stay here forever and we really need to get down to sea level

 


To continue where I left off............

We left Ouray on the way to Salida a nonstop drive: 166 miles  (267 km) which means driving time: 3 hours, 18 minutes

 but of course, it took us much longer because Mom drives slow and stops a lot to take pictures

     

I thought it was no more switchback roads said Mom, but boy was she wrong .............

       


We are at Monarch pass which is widely considered one of the most scenic in Colorado, offering a panoramic view of the southern end of the Sawatch Range from the summit. During the summer, a tram from the parking lot at the summit carries visitors to the top of Monarch Ridge above the pass (at approximately 12,000 feet (3,700 m) above sea level),(it was closed due to the virus) allowing a wider view of the surrounding peaks. (Mom said the view is fine from here) 

 

     

 

they got some heavy-duty machines to get around in the winter here................

 

 

Mom was going to open her hood too but changed her mind when the guys in the jeeps just glared at her............ha

 

 

The bikers up here seem a little bit different compare to the ones we met before?

 

 

 

No matter how scary it has been (don't think it's over quite yet) for Mom to drive on these roads she says she's glad we did it because the views are so totally amazing, so we often park (Mom can't look while driving) just to take it all in (and for me to relieve myself

   


We're now ready to leave Salida and continue south ............unless Mom changes her mind, which is something you have to get used to traveling with her. That's why I'm the best travel companion because I go along with whatever, although I do wish she would find me more parks with GRASS.............everything here is covered in gravel and sticky little green stuff here and there..... I do not like it

behind that fence looks good to me................but again noooooo no no 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

here's a story about how these little towns came about..............lots of mining then and mostly tourists now

 

SO off we go and hopefully, I'll be writing from New Mexico tomorrow

 

wet kisses to y'all

 

 

 



 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 september 2023 08:44

We are getting ready for the long flight back to Florida tomorrow so Mom isn't giving me any time for my story but here are some pictures from Stockholm where we are staying until tomorrow. According to Mom, this is the cleanest city we visited. and ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2023 17:03

 We have been having many sluggish days lately, it's been raining, and Mom was in the mood for a meal she used to love as a puppy. so she's been cooking a real meal for a change. It was very tasty but Mom seemed to have difficulties cooking for one p...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 augusti 2023 19:35

We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise at 4.45 AM It's definitely getting closer to  fall because it's getting dark at night now     Yes, Mom kept her promise and we stayed for a second night at the marina, and on the second day, we had lunch there....

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 augusti 2023 16:41

It hasn't been easy to get Mom to help me with my story, because now Mom got a book that completely mesmerized her. The author is from her puppy town and the story is about a woman's life and struggles to live in Northern Sweden from 1896 to 1985. ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 augusti 2023 08:12

Ever since we arrived in Mom's puppy town she's been sleeping later and later in the mornings, this morning she didn't get up until 7.30, that's a record. I think she's reminiscing back to her teens? Here I'm running after the ball at the same fiel...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards