floridatjej

Alla inlägg den 1 juli 2020

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 1 juli 2020 23:45

Hello, the second day on the road and we are in a new state now

   

and Mom pulled over to buy one of her favorite snacks which are roasted pecan nuts.

I wasn't about to stop begging sitting so close watching her munching away so I finally got a taste and I ate it (it would have been rude not to) but yuck I didn't beg for seconds.

Our first stop was Silver Springs campsite which Mom had heard a lot of nice things about and seen gorgeous pictures of Kayaking in a crystal clear river. So she called to find out if I would be allowed kayaking and was told it was no problem.....not so, only if you brought your own kayak, which we didn't. Lesson learned is to call and ask for the same info several times, maybe until you get the same answer twice or three times. The campsite was on gravel far away from the water and not very appealing at all. Only animal life we encountered was hard-skinned guy,

 

we walked around the park and it was hot 100F (37C) so we were lucky the big trees gave us shade, and we didn/t have to worry about any crowds

 


The glass-bottom boat closed because of thunder, but that didn't matter to me because I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be allowed. The water was absolutely crystal clear so if we had a kayak I'm sure Mom would have gone out there..........................No we wouldn't have: said Mom >what about the thunder?

 

and what about this? I say..............smack them with the paddle Mom says..........HA! yeah right

 

 


It is so hot everybody is panting 

   

 

there wasn't much more to see here so Mom decided to continue on driving Florida's backroads toward Savannah Georgia. I do not know what made Mom turn into this city, named "Starke" maybe it was the name which means "strong" in Swedish.........In any event, it was a small quaint town with a great campsite where we spent the night.

  

 

I sat in the back of the car cheering Mom on as she struggles with the tent. Luckily 2 young ladies came to help. Again one of the poles split lengthwise ........good thing is we're heading towards Asheville where it's made so we can get it fixed.

I had a hard time relaxing and sleep because there were so many new sounds and I'm a watchdog, that's my job. Still, it's cozy and we have everything we need..............except...In the morning Mom got the stove, the water...........and realized she forgot to pack the coffee......the special container she bought for this trip...............I heard a few bad words......maybe time to get the book out? It cooled down a lot at night so Mom had no trouble sleeping

 

we even have a chandelier with a fan ;-) ;-)

 

 


We made it to Savannah today and the sky turned black so luckily we made into a hotel seconds before the sky opened up, as soon as it stops we're going to explore the sights in town

 

 

sending slobbering kisses on your ear...........

  

 

 

 

 

Skapa flashcards