floridatjej

Direktlänk till inlägg 9 juli 2021

FRIDAY MORNING 7/9

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 9 juli 2021 11:54

continuing from yesterday.

I think Mom made a mistake yesterday because we were still in North Carolina when we headed towards the ocean and a place called Outer Banks. 

 

we passed a lot of small villages and fishing seems to be the biggest past time


    



driving north on this narrow string of land there was wall to wall T-shirt shops, souvenir shops, and restaurants. I started to wonder why we are here? Mom doesn't like this kind of place, and we have plenty of beaches where we live?

Soon I found out why

In a town  called Kitty Hawk it was time for me to start working


 


some very interesting history took place here that Mom really wanted to visit, and since it's too hot for me to stay in the car, I have to wear this vest and watch Mom every step so she doesn't fall down


On December 17, 1903, Wilbur and Orville Wright made four brief flights at Kitty Hawk with their first powered aircraft. They had invented the first successful airplane.

   

 

Wilbur and Orville set to work trying to figure out how to design wings for flight. They observed that birds angled their wings for balance and control, and tried to emulate this, developing a concept called “wing warping.” When they added a moveable rudder, the Wright brothers found they had the magic formula-on December 17, 1903, they succeeded in flying the first free, controlled flight of a power-driven, heavier than airplane. Wilbur flew their plane for 59 seconds, over a distance of 852 feet, an extraordinary achievement

       


this cute little girl wanted to pose for a picture so why not?

 

 

 

The monument was located on top of the hill where they launched their plane and despite the heat, we decided we just had to get up there if for nothing else but a photo opportunity.

 

   

Obviously, this monument was erected to honor me..............ha in your dreams Mom says

 

   

 

after this stop, we continued north and got off the reef and I'm still waiting for my surprise when Mom all of a sudden makes a U-turn I sat up and looked excitingly maybe it's coming now? A diner??? am I getting my own chef?

Nope, the place was closed but according to Mom, this is a nostalgic big time. OK I take her word for it

   


Yet another U-turn( how come all the interesting stuff is on the other side of the road?

Nostalgy again I ask? 

Yes Mom saw this Grave Digger monster truck in action many years ago in New York

     


I had to admit they were pretty cool looking but neither Mom nor I do understand much about all this stuff inside 

     


If you wanted to you can ride in a bus monster, but we didn't bother but I was happy to try a smaller version


     


there were     some strange animals there too


Was this my surprise? nope not yet..............

finally, something that caught Mom's eye on the "right" side of the road. I stayed in the car for this one.

why is a rusty shrimp and troll interesting?  art says Mom....

       

The next stop is Norfolk but I will tell you all about that place tomorrow because I have to get out and take a leak.

I have already gotten my surprise and it was AWESOME I'll tell you tomorrow






  


 

 




 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 september 2023 08:44

We are getting ready for the long flight back to Florida tomorrow so Mom isn't giving me any time for my story but here are some pictures from Stockholm where we are staying until tomorrow. According to Mom, this is the cleanest city we visited. and ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2023 17:03

 We have been having many sluggish days lately, it's been raining, and Mom was in the mood for a meal she used to love as a puppy. so she's been cooking a real meal for a change. It was very tasty but Mom seemed to have difficulties cooking for one p...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 augusti 2023 19:35

We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise at 4.45 AM It's definitely getting closer to  fall because it's getting dark at night now     Yes, Mom kept her promise and we stayed for a second night at the marina, and on the second day, we had lunch there....

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 augusti 2023 16:41

It hasn't been easy to get Mom to help me with my story, because now Mom got a book that completely mesmerized her. The author is from her puppy town and the story is about a woman's life and struggles to live in Northern Sweden from 1896 to 1985. ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 augusti 2023 08:12

Ever since we arrived in Mom's puppy town she's been sleeping later and later in the mornings, this morning she didn't get up until 7.30, that's a record. I think she's reminiscing back to her teens? Here I'm running after the ball at the same fiel...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards