floridatjej

Direktlänk till inlägg 12 augusti 2021

THURSDAY 8/12 -21

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 12 augusti 2021 13:37

Finally, I got Mom to help me with my story. She has been doing nothing but sitting around looking at the view and relaxing with friends not giving me much time at all but luckily for me I found a box loaded with toys to destroy.

Anyway here's my story.

We stayed in a very nice place in Nashville which is the capital of Tennessee and home to Vanderbilt University. Legendary country music venues include the Grand Ole Opry House, home of the famous “Grand Ole Opry” stage and radio show.

Next to the hotel was a great Mexican restaurant where we had a delicious supper.................well, not exactly WE, 

I did get a few of those crackers but apparently, that green stuff isn't good for me and it's Moms favorite so she didn't share

 

 

Monday morning we went to Broadway Historic District, which, is probably best known for the many music and tourism-related businesses that remain in this area. Known as Lower Broad, this section of Broadway has for decades attracted country music fans to its honky-tonk bars. Several of the street’s furniture and hardware stores played a key role in Nashville’s economy in the late nineteenth century; many of these have been adaptively reused as restaurants catering to locals and tourists alike. The Ernest Tubb Record Shop, at 417 Broadway, was the site of the second-longest running radio show in history, the Midnight Jamboree, still broadcast on Saturday nights on WSM Radio

     

We parked by Bridgestone Arena which has a seating capacity of 17,159 for ice-hockey 19,395 for basketball, 10,000 for half-house concerts 18,500 for end-stage concerts, and 20,000 for center-stage concerts, depending on the configuration used. It has also hosted several professional wrestling events and a boxing card since its opening.

 

 

 

It's 9 am on a Monday and bars are already open and bands are playing...............It's not very crowded yet but it's hot so we went into a shop that sells cowboy boots. Mom LOVES the scent of leather and she admired these gorgeous boots which she wishes she could fit into, but she has flip-flop feet and could never fit into those pointy boots.

The most expensive was Cayman and snake skins

     

 


I met a cowboy here that picked me up and never wanted to let me go he wanted to keep me.................noway that will ever happen

 


It's getting very hot so I walked into a bar and told Mom I was thirsty....................no bars she said, it's 9am Monday...........so what? I insisted

 


 

Music is good so come on Mom 

She relented and I got my own stool and she ordered a beer for us.....................I took one lick and Ewwww what kind is this?  It's an alcohol-free beer because we're driving Mom said ...................What do you mean WE? I'm not driving I said. .........but nope copilots cant drink alcohol either......................ooh shucks


 


A  very ornate leather jacket that probably weigh a ton


 


Neon signs were already lit and doing their best to make people come in and enjoy the parties. 

Mom said if she was 30 years younger we would have stayed to join in...................

Personally, I'm glad she's too old for it because to me it's very loud

 


OH, and everywhere we went we had to leave our weapons outside....................


Mom, do we really have any?...........no she says...............you're my protector she said, and that made me very proud

 
 

After walking up and down Broadway it was time for me to put my vest on and get to work............We were at Grand Ole Opry

   


We joined a tour and we looked at many artists dressing rooms, but Mom doesn't know too many singers and she forgot the names so there's no telling who stayed where.

   

 

This was Tammy Wynette's Rolls Royce

she was born Virginia Wynette Pugh (May 5, 1942 – April 6, 1998) was a country music singer-songwriter and musician and was one of country music's best-known artists and biggest-selling female singers during the late 1960s and first half of the 1970s. 

Wynette was called the "First Lady of Country Music", and her best-known song is "Stand by your man" Many of her hits dealt with themes of loneliness, divorce, and the difficulties of life and relationships


 

lots of glitter and glam

 

we did get our picture taken at the stage where all these famous people have been performing and Mom wished she could sing while standing there.

I'm glad she didn't because I've heard how bad she is when we're alone in the car and she tries to sing along to Abba

 

The place is huge and it must feel amazing to stand there with an audience of 4372 people

 

 

Finally a guy that Mom recognizes..............and wasn't he playing at that bar with gross beer?

Yupp, it was his song, but not him because he went over the rainbow bridge in 2003

 

 


This is the view Mom has been watching the last few days and I have to agree it's pretty and relaxing

   

 

Oh, I forgot............we did stay at a nice place in Nashville but in the morning we noticed this happened and that annoyed the crap of Mom so I had to cool her down with "it can be fixed"

 

 

All is well 

Henry

  

 


 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 september 2023 08:44

We are getting ready for the long flight back to Florida tomorrow so Mom isn't giving me any time for my story but here are some pictures from Stockholm where we are staying until tomorrow. According to Mom, this is the cleanest city we visited. and ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2023 17:03

 We have been having many sluggish days lately, it's been raining, and Mom was in the mood for a meal she used to love as a puppy. so she's been cooking a real meal for a change. It was very tasty but Mom seemed to have difficulties cooking for one p...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 augusti 2023 19:35

We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise at 4.45 AM It's definitely getting closer to  fall because it's getting dark at night now     Yes, Mom kept her promise and we stayed for a second night at the marina, and on the second day, we had lunch there....

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 augusti 2023 16:41

It hasn't been easy to get Mom to help me with my story, because now Mom got a book that completely mesmerized her. The author is from her puppy town and the story is about a woman's life and struggles to live in Northern Sweden from 1896 to 1985. ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 augusti 2023 08:12

Ever since we arrived in Mom's puppy town she's been sleeping later and later in the mornings, this morning she didn't get up until 7.30, that's a record. I think she's reminiscing back to her teens? Here I'm running after the ball at the same fiel...

Skapa flashcards