floridatjej

Direktlänk till inlägg 10 juni 2022

FRIDAY 6/10/2022

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 10 juni 2022 10:01

Today we're off the mountain and the sun is back on charging the panel on the roof. We're at one of Mom's friends and here lives a giant named Buster. He's very nice, but a little scary

   

It's a gorgeous place with a huge yard to run loose, but Mom had to spend so much time to get all the grass out of my paws so I'm not sure I will be let loose again.



Mom loved the flowers at this apple tree, I don't care but I watered it


 

 Lucky me, I found another tasty ear 


 


so let me go back to where I left off yesterday. We stayed on the mountain for the night. Freezing but awesome.

We met a couple who lived in a humungous RV like the size we see in the USA. I thought Mom would be jealous, but as it turned out she much prefers little Lucy who is easily parked and can go pretty much everywhere.

This luxury home can't drive some of the roads in Norway for example.

   

They were nice people and invited us for a beer and cheese-doodles. Beer for Mom and doodles for me. Well, I had to get some beer to wash down the doodles, so it was a good night


  

we started up early it was too cold to just hang out and we needed to drive to charge the batteries.

   


Let me tell you, Mom is no fan of gravel roads and neither am I since all the kitchen stuff is rattling and it sounds like it'll break any minute.

We found coltsfoot up here and that's the first flower that we see in spring

 

     


coming off this road everything changes and it gets warmer and trees are growing again.

 



Mom hates it when I walk this close to the edge, she even gets a little mad at me. She doesn't understand I have no fear of heights like she does and I'm not falling like she thinks I will


 

This is a tall bridge and Mom wanted to look at the view so she stopped and parked and we walked back to look. While driving she's not able to look over the sides? she just stares straight ahead.


 


The biggest road hazard up here is the reindeer who think they own the road which pretty much they do because you do get in trouble if you hit one. The Sami people are like the American cowboys and follow their herd that stays on the mountain in the summer and is herded towards lower land in winter. Although Western culture has lighthearted associations with reindeer and the holiday season, these animals have been central to the Sami peoples’ livelihood for centuries. The Sami are the indigenous people who first inhabited the area of northern Scandinavia that extends across current-day Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Russia. Conflict regarding land rights and borders has troubled Sami reindeer herders since the arrival of the current dominant ethnic group from Southern Europe around the 9th century. Colonists continued to push the Sami further north and inland, taking from them their sacred land. Today, while the Sami have been granted some land rights by the government, they still struggle to maintain ownership of their land.........sounds familiar huh?

 

 

Mom tried to film them while driving and it turned out so so.................she wanted to show their funny looking hoves and their funny gait.

 


  

 

Log cabins are very popular here and many rest stops have firepits where you can make a fire cook your food and relax 

 

   

 

We drove through a village where this guy was standing............I think he must have visited Florida and got a severe sunburn from not being used to the sun.

 

Trappstegforsen literally means stairs of waterfalls. The waterfall has several small cascades after each other with an elevation of approximately 10 meters

   

 

This is all I have to tell you for now. I'm not sure what will happen this weekend but Mom's friends probably have something interesting in mind. They work today so we hang out and relax in the sun and do nothing.

In other words a great day.

Wet kisses to ya all

Henry.



 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 september 2023 08:44

We are getting ready for the long flight back to Florida tomorrow so Mom isn't giving me any time for my story but here are some pictures from Stockholm where we are staying until tomorrow. According to Mom, this is the cleanest city we visited. and ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2023 17:03

 We have been having many sluggish days lately, it's been raining, and Mom was in the mood for a meal she used to love as a puppy. so she's been cooking a real meal for a change. It was very tasty but Mom seemed to have difficulties cooking for one p...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 augusti 2023 19:35

We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise at 4.45 AM It's definitely getting closer to  fall because it's getting dark at night now     Yes, Mom kept her promise and we stayed for a second night at the marina, and on the second day, we had lunch there....

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 augusti 2023 16:41

It hasn't been easy to get Mom to help me with my story, because now Mom got a book that completely mesmerized her. The author is from her puppy town and the story is about a woman's life and struggles to live in Northern Sweden from 1896 to 1985. ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 augusti 2023 08:12

Ever since we arrived in Mom's puppy town she's been sleeping later and later in the mornings, this morning she didn't get up until 7.30, that's a record. I think she's reminiscing back to her teens? Here I'm running after the ball at the same fiel...

Skapa flashcards