floridatjej

Alla inlägg under augusti 2022

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 8 augusti 2022 07:31

I'm sorry for this long break in my story but it hasn't been much to tell lately. 

We left Mom's favorite island because of the strong wind and the changes and Mom was terrified driving over the long (6km) bridge to the mainland because of the wind that grabbed on to Lucy and pushed her all over the place.

We made it and went to Mom's puppy friend Lotta's house again and now we have been doing nothing to tell about for several days


 

Doing nothing like running in the woods and running on big fields is as far as I'm concerned the best "doing nothing" activities I know


   

One day we went to a fair and to Mom's surprise, they were not much different from the ones in America. Mom bought a homemade rag rug that may be unique to the states.

Then they ate potato pancakes with bacon and that was scrumptious (the bacon) Lotta don't eat the fat part of the bacon, so I say lucky me.


     


Mom sits around and doodles pictures from her memory

 


and we eat and drink, and drink and eat 

 


Mom picked a lot of little rocks at the beach and turned them all into ladybugs.


 


early mornings are magical here


we are parked by a historical narrow-gauge railway that's 71 km long, and only 891 mm. broad; it stretches from the forests of Småland in the west, past lakes, through small communities and agricultural areas out to the archipelago in the east. Along this line, trains have been running ever since 1879, despite many attempts to close it. Now, thanks to the determined efforts of residents and enthusiasts alike, the line is saved and is today regarded as one of Sweden’s top-10 industrial heritage artifacts.

Mom borrowed this picture from the web since hers was in the wrong format to upload?????

 

 


there are two cats living here too. The big boy is Elvis and he does not want to come close to me, but his Mom Selma is very curious about me and does not mind me checking her out but she will not cuddle like my Lilly.

 

 

 

Every day the folks play cards and eat and drink and eat and drink.

 

 

 


Maybe tomorrow we'll drive off for a new adventure as we are now well rested and fed.

It's much cooler now only in the 60ies but it's ok since that makes for great sleeping weather.


Mom is still disappointed about not getting to Barcelona as planned but from what we read in the news we should be grateful for not being there now. heat, draught, and fires is not fun


All is well here and I'm sending wet kisses to ya all

Henry

 








.

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 2 augusti 2022 19:59


Heading to the German port of Travemunde, Mom totally miscalculated the time it'll take to get there, and she got tired so we looked for a place to park for the night.

We found an ok stop and there was this pizzeria close by so we went there for a bite. Mom ordered a Gyro............but what she got was this?  thinking it must be a language mixup she used the translate app. and was told

"Ja das ist eine Gyro". it tasted ok but was no Gyro for sure.

 


Europe has billions of roundabouts and many towns like to put some art in the middle often to represent the town in some way. This looks like something from space and Mom said she would love to have one in our garden ( A letter from HOA would be a sure thing)..............maybe it's a moonshine appliance.


 

We stayed two nights in Travemunde where the ferry would leave from and there was a fair at the dock so we went there for supper. Mom ordered fish and of course a beer.


 

The seagulls are enormous and very pushy begging for food. Mom doesn't mind them and even shared a few pieces of her fish but I could tell other guests weren't happy about it.

   


We walked up and down the dock a few times but knowing we had to get up early for the ferry we didn't stay out late.

Mom is never up late, but always up way before the rooster.

     


Our neighbor at the parking was a real snotty girl that snarled at me the minute she saw me. What did I do to deserve that?  All I wanted was little whiff off her butt, but nooooo


 


.

We got on the ferry at 9.30 am and this time Mom made a note of exactly where on the ship we parked. ( I don't think I told you, but last time Mom lost Lucy on the ship and had to get help to find her) 


 

When we got up five flights there was no place to sit in the dog area, and the cabins were $65 extra. 

As we were walking around the crew said we could sit anywhere we can find a seat don't worry about dog restrictions.

So I quickly looked around and, here's a spot I said and jumped up with a lady that was eating a waffle.


 


It turned out that this lady was extremely afraid of dogs, so as Mom is trying to apologize and remove me I had already charmed this lady into loving me. The lady showed a large scar on her knee from a dog attack in her youth. She took pictures and sent them to her family and they were all surprised that she petted a dog.

We became close buddies............

 


And I slept with her husband.


 

Ferry arrived in Sweden at 530 pm so we said goodbye to everyone and continued on our drive north.

 


We're back in Sweden and now Mom's beer sampling has turned into this. I don't know about that white stuff, but the cinnamon buns are ok


 


Again Mom had a place in mind for us to visit which was about a six-hour drive to get to which meant we again slept at a rest stop. A very quiet and peaceful place I may add.

Öland is the second largest Swedish island and the smallest of the traditional provinces of Sweden. Öland has an area of 1,342 square kilometers and is located in the Baltic Sea. The island has 26,000 inhabitants. It is separated from the mainland by the Kalmar Strait and connected to it by the 6-km Öland Bridge, which opened on 30 September 1972.

Mom has been here every year except the last three (because of Covid)since she bought Lucy and was really looking forward to first washing her at that place with a high enough roof and then seeing the people at the small marina on the southern tip of the island.

DISAPPOINTED is the word.

the small familiar place is gone, instead, a new gravel space has been built for RVers and the cozy home feeling is gone. You can't even see the ocean from your window anymore .............

Mom had planned to stay here several nights like always but I'm pretty sure that changed now.

 

 

 

Walking on the beach it was so windy I could hardly walk because the wind was pushing me in all different directions.


   



Mom was laughing as I'm laying down holding on the rocks with everything I got 

 

 

 

The old mill where we get "fika" is still here 

 

 

I'm not sure where we'll go in the morning, but I'm pretty sure we aren't staying here, not even sure we'll stay on the island.

To me, it doesn't matter but I can tell Mom is glad to be back on smooth roads, that are smooth even in places where the asphalt is patched. Less traffic and no more grey stone houses with windows boarded up.

Mom used to complain about how dirty her puppy country has become but in comparison to where we have been Sweden is still super clean.

It's 9pm and time for my evening walk and then I'm pretty sure it's bedtime.

 

All is good

Wet kisses for ya all 

Henry

 

 




  



  


  





Skapa flashcards