floridatjej

Alla inlägg under maj 2023

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 maj 2023 06:25


Wednesday morning we left our friend and continued south towards the next stop.  It was supposed to be only a three-hour drive, but it was pouring rain, so Mom took it easy. All of a sudden some fluffy white stuff came down? At first, Mom thought it was something coming off a tree but believe it or not, it was SNOW??? and we were going south? obviously not south enough............. 

Mom parked and said we'll wait until this is over, Lucy has no snow tires. It didn't last long and none of it stuck on the ground. 


 The Saab 37 Viggen (Swedish for "the Bolt" or "the Tufted Duck") is a retired Swedish single-seat, single-engine, short-medium range multirole combat aircraft. Development work on the type was initiated at Saab in 1952 and, following the selection of a radical delta wing configuration, the resulting aircraft performed its first flight on 8 February 1967 and entered service on 21 June 1971

 In November 2005, the Viggen was retired from service by the Swedish Airforce the only operator, having been replaced by the newer Saab Jas 39 Gripen.


    

When we arrived at the destination Mom was so sleepy she needed a nap, and of course, I'm always up for a good rest.

After our nap, Mom did much-needed laundry.


As usual, I supervise from the best seat in the house.


 

The surroundings at this campsite are lovely. There are many hiking trails through the woods and we are right by Sweden's largest lake Vanern. Many sport fishers come here and spend the day on a boat hoping for a nice catch. 

   

On Friday more RVs arrive and there'll be BBQ, games, and music to follow. 


     


This is the owner of the property his name is Bertil and he lent Mom a potato masher.............. What a super guy

He does however own the nasties little chihuahua that snarls and barks the second she sees me, but I'm not holding that against Bertil because when she's not around he's a great man

He may come by with his accordion at tonight's party.


The weather Gods are with us now, with no snow or rain in sight. It's still pretty cool at nights but that's great for a good night's sleep.


Wet kisses 

Henry






  


Av EvaLena Hallgren - 17 maj 2023 05:38

We woke up very early because it's now raining very hard and that makes a lot of noise on Lucy's roof. Mom thinks it's cozy but I'm not so sure what to think about it yet. Mom says we're warm and dry so there's nothing to worry about.

Anyway we're awake now and Mom made breakfast for us

What do you guys think about this unfair treatment? 

Mom's breakfast versus mine? I think it's very unfair, so I suggest we trade once in awhile......fair? right?

   

As always when we visit here Birgitte takes us on a sightseeing around the area. Amazingly she manage to find places Mom had never been to, despite the fact she used to live here as a puppy?


 

First, we visited Forsvik Bruk which is an industrial heritage site from the 19th century but the industrial history of this place dates all the way back to medieval times.

The flower mill in Forsvik was first mentioned in written sources in 1410. This proves that people were already using water power to grind grain into flour as early as the middle ages in Sweden.

   

The present building however is from 1807 and situated in the same place as the earlier flower mill
This mill produced flour commercially until 1961.
You can still buy fresh ground flour here during the summer months.

      

Steam engine for the production of electricity
The steam engine is made by J & C.G Bolinders Mekaniska Verkstad AB  in 1909 and is of the horizontal type with valves for entering and releasing steam. The machine develops approx. 200 hkr and the generator produces 135 kW.
It was in operation until the end of the 50s

   


I bet the workers enjoyed this spot for their lunch "fika" break 

 


The old buildings are in very good shape and very rustic


     

The end ball motor FENIX - is simple, cheap, durable, and easy to maintain!
Around the country's smaller industries and agriculture, there was a demand for an efficient but straightforward, easy-to-maintain, and cheap source of power. In response to demand - Forsviks Aktiebolag chose to manufacture kerosene-powered ignition ball engines under the product name "FENIX".
Kerosene was cheap and was already in everyone's home because it was also used for kerosene lamps. The engines were used to, for example, drive combine harvesters, pumps saw blades, and boats and generate electricity.
The Fenix series was launched at the industrial exhibition in1901 and the range came to include many different 

variants


 

 


Fire department tools

 

 This is the only machine Mom understands the use of..............and that's one more than I know

 

Who knows what this contraption is good for? But it was interesting looking

 


There are 600 years of industrial history in this place, and luckily in 1993, an antiquarian was hired to lead work on-site at Forsvik, with continued renovation and development of activities there. With demolition orders on several buildings, the threatened works were gradually transformed into a living industrial museum with showings, exhibitions, guided tours, courses and education programs, music, and theatre.

After the factory tour, we stopped at the oldest lock of Gota Channel located nearby


The Gota Kanal is constructed in the early 19th century. The canal is 190 km (120 mi) long, of which 87 km (54 mi) were dug or blasted, with a width varying between 7–14 m (23–46 ft) and a maximum depth of about 3 m (9.8 ft). 

The speed is limited to 5 knots.

This is the oldest part where the digging began in the year 1810


   



This is a knot Mom tried to find a translation for, and it came out as "pole roast knot". We're both pretty sure that's incorrect.


 

After all this sightseeing we had worked up an appetite and still searching for that scrumptious old-fashioned shrimp sandwich we finally came to the right place.

We are at the fortress in Karlsborg which lost its intended central defensive role in 1918 but has been used as a garrison for several regiments and the Parachute Ranger School. There's a nice cafe there and well worth a visit.

Finally, this sandwich was DELICIOUS said the ladies, I did get a taste and thought it was so so,

I think Lilly would have appreciated this more than I............

 

 

The fortress is one of northern Europe's largest buildings and consists primarily of limestone.  Construction was begun in 1819 on (250 acres) of land. The fortress was to house a garrison of 6,000 enlisted men and an additional 8,000-10,000 people. The walls were mostly completed in 1830.  


Leaving the fort behind this guy, we never thought this big machine was going to fit? but it worked with a few inches on each side


   

Last Birgitte took us straight into the forest on a small gravel road? now what?

In the middle of nothing but trees was this cute little church, but nobody was home

 

Driving on these roads in the forest you have to be alert so you don't hit any of these guys running in front of you without and signals or warnings

   

This is where we spent the last two nights, tomorrow we'll be somewhere else 

 

I thought I'll join the herd...........no one will notice 


 


All is well

Kisses Henry




Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 maj 2023 06:55

Again we didn't drive very far, but we arrived at Birgitte's house who has a grouchy cat whose name I never remember 

It's a boy cat and Mom thinks he's cute, I say he's no Lilly

 


Look he had the nerve to sit in MY MOMS Lap to get petted and he didn't care that I protested?

   

If this nonsense keeps up I know a lady down the road where there are no cats and a full fridge with goodies that she's willing to share with me. I know how to get there, Buttons who traveled with Mom before me told me 

So can I go ?

Mom said that lady is with Buttons in rainbow land.........

Just my luck

 


Well, there's only one thing left to do, and that's making sure this cat's Mom knows my needs, and she's a pretty smart lady so she soon figured it out. 


   



The day is beautiful so we went for a short road trip to visit a famous Swedish poet's old home and grave.

 

Carl Gustaf Verner von Heidenstam (6 July 1859 – 20 May 1940) was a Swedish poet, novelist, and laureate of the 1916 Nobel Prize in Literature. He was a member of the Swedish Academy from 1912. His poems and prose work are filled with great joy of life, sometimes imbued with a love of Swedish history and scenery, particularly its physical aspects.

 

This is the view from his house and he was often sitting under this beautiful tree admiring the scenery

his final rest is also here

 


On the property, there are several smaller houses one where they usually sell delicious shrimp sandwiches, but to our big disappointment it was closed

 

lots of wild "forget me not" flowering 

 


This house is built by an eccentric who has too much money and time says Mom. It's private so we just passed by


 

Mom and her friend are now on the hunt for a great shrimp sandwich and two more places were closed so finally we stopped in Mom's favorite Swedish town Askersund. They had shrimp but not the old fashion ones they really wanted but why not try something new? Well, fancy marinated shrimp with a very spicy sauce was a bit disappointing but it stopped their hunger

   


I got ice cream and my only complaint was I didn't get enough 


On our way home the sky opened up and a much-needed rainfall. Unfortunately for all farmers and nature, it soon stopped.

This morning we woke up to a grey sky but no rain yet, 

I haven't heard anything about plans but I have a feeling we'll have a lazy relaxing day 


all is well, 

wet kisses 

Henry

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 14 maj 2023 12:30

Hello again, after a week of resting and getting used to the 6-hour time difference we finally got on the road and started our slow move further south. We only drove for about 3 hours and the birch trees are already showing off the very first green color that's only seen in early spring................says Mom

The wood anemone is also telling us it's springtime.


   


When we stopped I immediately recognized I had been here before and ran to see the lady of the house who I love a lot.......................I know it's mutual despite her trying to get away from my hot kisses.  



We happen to arrive at the HOA clean-up day so all homeowners got a broom and swept the walkways. 


 


The job was quickly done and after everyone got together at the grill having hot dogs coffee and rhubarb pie with vanilla sauce


 


This hammock under the apple blossoms looks fine 


   

Like so many Swedes Vanja and Christer also have a summerhouse and to our great delight we got invited again

It's located next to Sweden's nineteens largest lake and another Swedish paradise we get to visit.


This is the view from Lucy's window .............Can't complain at all


    


I know how to get the best seat in the house every time 



This is a very healthy breakfast cereal they say...................I'm sure it's a mistake they look like mine and are very tasty?

 



This morning we went for a walk by the lake and we both agreed to buy this house............

The bad thing is it's not for sale 


Tomorrow we'll be somewhere else Mom says, and when I ask she says it'll be a surprise, but as hint she let me know a grouchy cat lives there.



Life is great 

Kisses from Henry 






  

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 11 maj 2023 19:35

We have been spending all the time since we arrived in Sweden at the same place here in the boonies. We've been having wonderful weather and super nice walks in the woods, and the very best part is freedom from any lead 


   

When we walked by this door I wanted to visit because it's very clear to me that the sign on the door meant an invitation for me. Mom said it's an empty old house no one lives there anymore. There are a lot of empty old timber homes around here..................not sure why?

Anyway, Mom liked the door a lot but I told her it's no way we'll get that on the plane going back home, so she left it there


 


Yesterday I was left watching Lucy while Mom with friends went out to eat and I wish I was there. It all looked yummy and the size of that plate with filet mignon was the same size as Mom's Turkey serving plate.

Mom was longing for a Swedish pizza and she said it was great.

   

the third dish was served on a piece of oak wood................



 


The water in the river is much higher than usual and it's all because of the snow melting from the mountains. Water is icy cold so no swimming yet


 


Today Mom has been sitting in the sun doodling pictures from where we are now.


   


I love this place and have many balls to chase as long as someone are willing to throw them for me


 


Tomorrow we're leaving for a not-so-long ride south to visit more people. I'm not sure who yet but Mom claims I met them before and that the lady of the house loves my kisses.................good to know


Wet kisses 

Henry






Av EvaLena Hallgren - 9 maj 2023 07:07

Good morning all, we have now moved into Lucy even if nights still are very cold. I stay under the cover to keep Mom warm and it's so cozy. 

Lucy had to go back to inspect that rear-end brake drum something, and now she's feeling good again. 


   

Unfortunately, she still has some issues with indoor light fixtures that don't work which is most likely a fuse somewhere.

We have to wait until we find a fixer-upper man who knows about this kind of stuff. I suggested we go to that man who fixed our door last year because I remember Mom being impressed by his knowledge.

We're still staying at the same place in the country where I'm free to roam and I have now made it my property and alert Mom as soon as anybody comes close ....................I was stopped from barking at these big guys though.


 


This is a guy I remembered from last year, he always has cookies in his pocket when he stops by. My kind of people for sure.

 

This time he left a few on the table for later he said ...................I say give it to me now


 


We're still having lazy days in the sun, I run around until I get sleepy and then I take a short nap with Mom hoping she'll get up and throw my ball again. 



I did get a taste of the ostrich and yes it was yummy, but so is everything else they're cooking and as long as I sit close to my friend I know I will get a taste.

 


I'm not getting any more cheese though, They claim it gives me smelly gas? I don't know what that's all about,I haven't noticed    

Today will be another sunny lazy day I hope 

I don't know when Mom plans to get on the road driving south, but I know it'll happen eventually 

until than I will enjoy every minute of this freedom

 


Wet kisses to ya'll

Henry



Av EvaLena Hallgren - 6 maj 2023 08:04

Yesterday was a great day for me because we arrived at my favorite place in Sweden. (Mom likes it too) It's a place where I'm allowed to roam around free without a collar or lead. I found my ball at the same exact place I left it last year, and I made Mom throw it until she had no more strength left. 

The nights are still freezing in the 30ies but I think that's fine and Mom loves the coziness of a fire in the stove.

 


The days are sunny and in order with the Swedish tradition, we placed the chairs against a wall away from the wind to take in every ray of sunshine.

 

The ladies were drinking wine and I got thirsty chasing the ball so I demanded a sip too


    

 


While still in town we went to a ostrich farm to buy meat for the BBQ.........I wasn't allowed near these birds. Their feet were almost as big as me and they didn't look all that friendly anyway.

Their meat is supposedly delicious and hopefully, I'll get a chance to taste it this time. Last year I only got a whiff of it.


     


After Mom, this is my favorite person in Sweden. Elvy is the nicest lady and she doesn't mind my wet kisses like my Mom does. She also shares all the goodies she has so I'm going to make sure I sit next to her when they'll be eating the Ostrich

 


Mom says her cooking is so good she wants it all to herself...................I think that's very selfish

 

In the evening they sit around playing poker while I'm napping. Mom had no Swedish money but managed to play anyway because at first she won some, but an hour later she had given it all back 


 


At the supermarket, they had horsemeat so Mom bought some since she had forgotten how it tastes but remembered she used to like it a lot. It's served as a Coldcut and tastes a little bit like a cross between prosciutto and corned beef.

I found it very salty and Mom said we're not getting it again.......................poor horse

 


It is only the beginning of spring so trees are still without leaves and there's snow in many places where the sun hasn't reached. The first spring flowers are showing off and before we know it everything will be green and gorgeous.

 

Monday Lucy will be ready to pick up and she'll have new breaks........................... then will go ???? somewhere


wet kisses

Henry





Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 maj 2023 07:54

Hello everyone, finally Mom is starting to come alive after this long flight and a 6-hour time difference. As usual, I behaved exemplary and Mom is quite proud of me. My best cookie delivery guy gave us a ride to the airport at 8AM on Monday.


 


After a lot of discussions with the ticket agent about me, we finally got through security and are now waiting to board the plane.


 


We flew 3hours to the Kennedy Airport in New York, and I could tell Mom had a special feeling about this place since she sounded so excited looking out the window right before we landed.

That's the beach where I used to visit a lot when I lived here she said, and I hope I'll get to see it too one day. 

   


So we landed and we had a 3.5-hour layover before the next plane to Stockholm. Luckily our gate was very close so we had plenty of time to eat and look around.


 


Mom ordered some green stuff and a chicken cutlet for me, well, maybe it wasn't for me, but Mom didn't like it so I ate most of it.

 


Mom felt like having a glass of wine but regretted it later when she had to pay for it.       knowing she could have bought 2 bottles for that price at a different store............



I'm used to barstools and when I saw this one I was hoping I could order a beer but there was none here.

    


The flight to Stockholm took 8 hours and I slept all the way without making any noise. Again Mom is very proud of me.

Finally, at Arlanda airport, we had to wait for another 3 hours to catch the train to our friends and final destination.

I had to show my passport to customs and they welcomed me to Sweden.


Finally, we arrived at our friends at noon on Tuesday, and it was freezing at only 36F but it didn't bother me much.

Mom who doesn't have my fabulous coat was freezing.

We were both exhausted so we took a nap on the couch.

 


When we woke Mom's friend had baked cinnamon buns which she knew was her favorite. I have heard so much about them but Mom never shared any so this time I took a chance and helped myself in a way I later learned was a complete no no

 


Dinner was meatballs and spaghetti and I made sure to sit next to Elvy because I know how much she loves me and she'll share with me. They were YUMMY


   


We haven't seen Lucy yet because we got the news at the inspection that she needs new brake pads on her rear? whatever that means.

Mom said we will move into her on Monday. 

Friday we will be back to my favorite place in the entire world. It's a place where I left all my balls and I get to run free all day.

Mom is still tired but I know she'll soon be back to her normal self


Many wet kisses to you all

Henry








Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards