floridatjej

Alla inlägg under juli 2017

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 28 juli 2017 12:04

Nothing to tell is once again the excuse Mom is giving me and my protests don't seem to matter anymore...........Oh well, I guess I have to settle with the little time I do get.

We spent a few days at Mom's aunt and her birthday party, where Mom got to meet a lot of relatives which was great for her. It was pretty good for me too because I managed to smooch a few goodies from the guests.

Last day there they ate that smelly fish which I have smelled before and trust me it's a very unpleasant smell.............and that's coming from ME ? Mom says .............not sure what she means about that.

 

This is a type of fermented Baltic sea herring and is smaller than the Atlantic Sea herring.The herring used for surströmming are caught just prior to spawning.

During the production of surströmming, just enough salt is used to prevent the raw herring from rotting. A fermentation process for at least six months gives the fish a characteristic strong smell and somewhat acidic taste. According to a Japanese study, a newly opened can of surströmming has one of the most putrid food smells in the world, stronger than similarly fermented fish dishes from Korea and Japan.

You eat in on a kind of Matza bread with boiled potatoes, butter, chopped onions tomatoes and sour cream...........

Here's a perfect "klamma"

 

Following day we continued driving north, and all you see is trees and more trees, again a good time to nap. Since Mom also thought we should take it slow, we stopped at our favorite camp site in Vilhelmina.

This is our third time here and it's great to see the owners who are so nice and service minded.

Here things work on the honor system, you want an ice cream? take it and you put the money in a box, if you want to use the washing machine there's a fee, just put the money in the box. It's a real "feel good" place Mom says, and I agree.


   


I met this smiling girl there

 


Many rest stops have this kind of BBQs for people traveling. Lokals chop wood and leave for everyone to use.

The people in the north believe in slowing down and enjoy the nature and that's really cool

 


We have been to this village before, I remember that moose standing in front of the grocery store.........

       


We didn't have many more miles to go to stop at another relatives hose a little further north so Mom made several stops to look around, and this stop is a camping place where you have close to fishing which the other place also have so it'll be hard to choose next time.


       


I met this cute girl there, same age as me .............she has potential I say


 


in the afternoon we arrived at another relative to Mom and they hunt and fish for most of their food so in the evening they BBQed moose which was delicious.

This is Maria, the chef in charge and a totally awesome cook.

 


Their dogs are hunting dogs so they stay outside a lot and bark a lot, drives Mom nuts............haha........they were both nice to me. I walked up to them to say hello and they treated me with all the respect a senior deserves.


     


Second evening the appetizer was smoked moose hart, and yessssss I did get to taste a small corner, it was very tasty. Mom never ate this before and was a little suspicious but she really liked it too.

 


The main course was a lasagna that was outta this world made with moose meat, and for dessert fried rhubarb with ice cream and cookie crumbs. Mom ate way way way to much so she better get on a diet soon.


We have a great view here and it never get dark at night.............all is well


   






Av EvaLena Hallgren - 22 juli 2017 05:55

First off I want to apologize to all our friends following us. I have begged and pleaded to Mom to help me write, I even barked a few times, to no avail. She says since we're back in Sweden now there's not much to write about it's just same old same old..............I don't understand that at all

 Now finally this will change since yesterday Mom received a letter from Poppy's parents.

Poppy is the Brittish Jack Russell I made friends with in southern Germany at the beginning of our vacation. Mom got a little worried at the possibility to receive a bill from them, so she quickly complied.


Hello again EvaLena and Buttons

 

 I am writing to complain that I have not seen any activity on Eva, Lucy and Buttons blog and am now suffering withdrawal symptoms. 

 

I have spoken to my therapist and he tells me I have been over exposed to extreme adventure and it will take several weeks of intense sessions to cure me.

 Since your blog did not carry any health warnings of this side effect, I feel I have no option other than to hold you responsible and forward you our bill....  

 Otherwise, we both hope you all are really well and ended your journey safely and fully revitalized.

 Kindest regards

 

Jude, Malcolm, and Poppy

 

Now I know how to persuade Mom in the future, 

After we left Lotta's house we continued to drive north west back to almost where we started. Stopped for lunch we all of a sudden saw a boat sailing on a field.

 

That is the Göta Canal constructed in the early 19th century. It formed the backbone of a waterway stretching some 614 km (382 mi), linking a number of lakes and rivers to provide a route from Gothenburg on the west coast to Stockholm on the Baltic sea.

The canal itself is 190 km (120 mi) long, of which 87 km (54 mi) were dug or blasted, with a width varying between 7–14 m (23–46 ft) and a maximum depth of about 3 m (9.8 ft). It has 58 locks and can accommodate vessels up to 32 m (105 ft) long, 7 m (23 ft) wide and 2.8 m (9.2 ft) in

Parts of the canal are still used to transport cargo, but it is now primarily used as a tourist and recreational attraction, dubbed Sweden's Blue Ribbon.The canal is ironically referred to as the "divorce ditch" from the troubles that couples have to endure while trying to navigate the narrow canal and the many locks by themselves. 

 

 


As we have done every year we stopped in a small town where Mom spent a lot of time as a puppy and visited old friends. The were BBQing and chatting all night long

   

I knew who will the most likely to share some goodies from her plate so I made sure my seat would be next to Mrs. Sorensen

 

 


Mom loaned her apron to the master chef who did a great job.


 


Mom's puppy friend didn't give me any cookies or anything from his plate at all, he was too busy with those cans they all drank from.

 


following day I spent watching Lucy again since they all went to a car show. Lots of American cars that I've seen so many of before so I was quite happy to take a nap.


                         


Moms dad had a car like this, and I have never seen one in US, it's an Opel made in Germany


 


Mom really wanted to ask this Swede if he had a clue at all? but figured it'll be no use since most likely he didn't 


 


This is gross ................


 


There was also hundreds of motorcycles there

 


The further North we go, we'll get more and more mosquitoes and this is what Swedes consider a survival kit, but Lotta said the cigarettes were missing. I'm glad Mom don't agree with her. ( Mygga is mosquito repellant) 


 



After a couple of days here we continued North to visit our friends where we started again. Pretty tricky of Mom going to places where we get fed so she doesn't have to cook....

They took us out on a great boat ride on the river.......

   

 

In Borlänge is Sweden's most recognized log building, Ornässtugan. It will remain in its original location.

Loft building belonged to a wealthy miner and was included in an enclosed courtyard formation. The lower floor served as storage and the top as a guest house. The loft has many intriguing traces of folklore.

     

according to folk lore, you're supposed to hug this tree to get peace in your soul, Mom didn't

 

 

 


In the evening we visited a lady that owned 2 cats, one hid the entire time I was there. This guy was very curious and watched my every move. 

 


after a few days eating and drinking here, we kept on further North and now we're going to Mom's aunts birthday party. It's a long drive so we spent one night parked in the woods. Mom thought it was so awesome, quiet and peaceful, but I was very suspicious and didn't want to leave Lucy which Mom couldn't understand at all. I tried to explain I'm a city boy and she didn't pick up this peculiar scent as I did.


 


This sign says penguins and camels are as rare as garbage men here, so do take your trash with you.


 


Ok, that's all the update I have, nothing overly exciting, but still an update..............today it's the birthday party and after that, we'll be continuing further North. Weather not great, it's raining as usual and no warmer than 50 degrees

Last night it was thundering horribly which scares me, but we're safe and warm inside Lucy so there's no complaining.

All is well 

 

 

 

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 11 juli 2017 06:39

Here we go again, as soon as Mom get together with her friends she forgets to help me write my blog. She says it's because we have nothing interesting to share, we eat, we rest, we chat. Yeah, but I have something to say and I feel neglected..............boohoo spoiled brat Mom says.

Anyway, yesterday was Dad's birthday and I wanted to send a card with my paw signature on it, but NO, Mom had one of those what she calls "senior moments", and THAT'S another reason why she should be listening to me...........I NEVER forget.

So we are at Morre and Selma's house, they are both really cute but not overly friendly.


     


Morre and I are the same age, and he can get real grouchy and hiss at me if I get to close. His Mom is real proud of me being the bigger man in keeping my distance and not get into his face. ...........What choice do I have ?cat's have some seriously sharp nails and because of my first cat, I do know how they feel. 

There's a lot of cat's in this neighborhood and both Mom and Lotta is going gaga over them...............these guys, like most cats here, live in a barn.

   


I find these big guys much more interesting, and they make something I really like..............cheese...............good luck getting any cheese from those guys Mom said, and I'm not sure what she means? they look like cows to me? Look underneath she says, do you see any milk containers? Oh no, so what do these guys DO then?............

 

It has been gorgeous weather so Mom decided to give me a bath........and it was nice getting rid of all that city dust 


 



After I was shaved combed and dried..............nails cut and filed .............life is good.


 


Morre is laughing or maybe just yawning, he also naps a lot just like me.............he too thinks life is good.


 


Lotta lives 20 min. from the city and yesterday, I was left guarding Lucy while the girls went into town food shopping. I confused Mom by rather staying doing my job than taking the option to come along. ........I've visited enough cities so the opportunity getting an uninterrupted nap didn't sound too bad...........OH and the job watching Lucy? Mom asks


This church is in the middle of town


 


There's a lot of roses and pretty flowers in Lottas garden 

     


I know we'll be here a few more days before continuing North to Moms puppy town and that's fine with me. Two gorgeous sunny days have now turned into gray rainy wet days..............hope it doesn't last long.

This is pretty much how we have been driving so far

 


I walk in Mom's shadow.........


 


All is well..



Av EvaLena Hallgren - 8 juli 2017 08:36

I like to rapport that even the older generation has succumbed to this habit by the dinner table, (they only need larger devices)........... Makes Mom crazy, but on the other hand at this age, these two probably already said everything that needs to be said to each other


 


Gorgeous morning and as usual we're up with the sunrise..............Mom is looking up at that bridge hoping that's not the one we have to cross to continue.


 


This dog was also awake, ad he looked very puzzled that he wasn't the only one up this early? He didn't say a woff just stared at us with his mouth open..


 


This looks like a great house, Mom wold love having it floating in a Florida canal with access to the ocean...............but if we did, I would have to learn to swim she says................ I already do know how I just choose not to............


 


last night this helicopter kept spraying the vineyards hoping it's just watering but that would be too good to be true. Pretty sure it's against bugs so the crop doesn't get ruined.  The pilot was pretty good at it, sure wasn't his first time flying

     


Packing up to continue our trip Mom decided it was time to head north and take the sun with us to make our Swedish friends happy. They have not had too many days of warm weather so far this summer (what else is new?)

We got on the autobahn wich is a fast moving 3 lane highway. Thousands of trucks also heading north..........Lucy is liking the German diesel a lot and keeping up with traffic very well. Germans claim we have only vegetables in our tanks............I don't know the truth, but the exhaust stinks much more in Germany. Getting through Hamburg was the pits, lots of traffic and road work which held us up.


We didn't make it all the way in one day, so we slept at a truck stop again. This place was very well kept, and lots of cute rabbits were living there, none of them willing to make my acquaintance............maybe a language issue?


 


In the morning Mom made reservations at a Copenhagen parking space for RVs.We have been there before and remember the rude owner, but it's the closest to the city and a good place to park and ride the bike. 

We finally made it to the ferry to take us to Denmark. we could have driven around, but this gives both Mom and Lucy a break.

 


Mom has promised me to never leave me in the car on a ferry ride and she kept that promise this time too


 


Denmark has lots of Windmills that produces clean power.


 

it's so cool watching the seagulls kind of floating along the ship as we are crossing the ocean. 


   


we finally arrived in Copenhagen, Moms favorite city where she has a lot of memories from puppyhood. None of which she's sharing with me.

We got to the parking space, and there's Finn, the rude guy. He said he never got Moms booking and now has no space? He still denied getting it even as Mom showed him it on her computer, and even showed him the response he wrote about needing Lucy's plate number, which he had received? There was no point arguing with him he has many complaints about his demeanor, but since he's the only one in town he has more than enough business so he doesn't need to be nice.................well that's HIS opinion

Driving around the city thinking what to do................

   

This messed up our plans to bike ride, but Mom has learned a lot from the Italians about parking, so we just parked and folded in the mirrors as we went to the Freetown looking to get Moms favorite sandwich and drink.


     


the girl still there and selling these amazing drinks made from avocado, ginger and something else. Sandwich mom likes is also avocado mozzarella and tomatoes on this great bread. 

It's a hippie town and there's a lot of graffitis which Mom normally don't like but here it belongs and fit in she says.......

and some of them are really well done


       


lots of tourists come here and they even have tours to show how hippies from the 60ies live ........haha. Many artists live here also.


   


this bike with a box on the front was initially made here, but has become so popular they moved to a larger place. Parents pedaling along in Copenhagen with their children sitting in the box is a very common sight, and it's not unusual to see a repairman arriving in one of these with the box full of tools

   

 


somewhere driving north we lost the sun we brought along and here comes the rain. It was really pouring for a while, so Mom pulled over and took a nap..................It's not a nap, it's siesta she corrected me............and the difference is???

 


Nothing much is happening now and if this continues there'll be a lot of napping.................SIESTAS!!!!


all is well.



Leaving Copenhagen we headed straight towards Sweden to a combined railway and motorway bridge across the strait.The bridge runs nearly kilometers  (5 miles) from the Swedish coast to an artificial island in the middle of the strait. The crossing started by a 4-kilometre (2.5 mi)  tunnel from Denmark.

 





Av EvaLena Hallgren - 5 juli 2017 22:04

We're still at the Mosel river, and this time in a small town called Winningen. The entire drive is only 130 miles, but with so many stops and looking around it's slow going, not that I mind, but it's getting really hot again, and I'm longing for the cold weather up north. .................(Mom just gave me a dirty look)

As usual, we got up early and went for a walk, How about renting a wine barrel for the night?

 


This blackbird was singing to us for hours, Mom enjoyed it, I didn't really care one way or another.


 


After breakfast ( Mom had two warm croissants) we continued on and next town we stopped was Trarbach-Traben, another town with different names depending on what side of the river.

It was difficult to find parking because they were using the biggest lot to put up some kind of Tivoli preparing for the weekend wine festival. Mom has learned from the Italians how to park so she managed, and luckily no ticket when we came back.

     

This driver was either lucky or extremely professional since the opening was an arch, he only fit exactly in the middle. He wasn't slowing down much for this maneuver either.............impressive

 


again I didn't feel like walking much so Mom had to carry me, here she put me down on the bridge railing so she could rest her arms.............I didn't dare to move one inch.................she claims it was plenty wide, but I would like to see her sitting that high up on a skinny rail ............


   


Mom is really envying these kayakers and wish we could do that too, I have no objections to that, I've done it before and it's kind of cool.  

 


For some reason Mom decided to drive up the side of a mountain thinking we'll get a great view of the entire river, (now she's all of a sudden ok with winding narrow steep roads?) 

It didn't work, when we got up there was nothing but trees in the way, so that was a fun scary ride for nothing. 

Wonder what the people in these homes thought when we came driving close  to their front doors since Lucy is a tad wider than a regular car.


   


Back down following the river again we passed a town called Kattines, Katt=cat ..............


 


plenty of flowers growing in wine barrels everywhere


 


Next town we stopped was Cochem, and now Mom was hungry and wanted to eat, and the entire street was lined with restaurants, BUT Germans are heavy smokers, and we both hate that, so when we asked for a smoke-free place to sit we were invited inside, me in my wagon this time. This is the second try Mom made to have some good German food, and that's it, never again she says..........everything smothered in some gooey fat sauce? even the potato?....the only thing tasty on this plate according to her was the salad. The potato was brown inside and cold. When she complained, the waiter said he'll take the chef by his ear....................? no offer to fix it

 


Nice town to stroll around but just like all other tourist places, it is wall to wall souvenir shops and Mom didn't buy anything at all this time either ........

     


Above this town is Reichburg castle and there used to be a falconer show there, but not today, so we didn't bother walking up. It would have been quite strenuous for Mom to push me up there in this heat too.


 

 


nice wall art 

     


we spent a few hour walking along the river and admiring the homes on the other side.

 


 

 


Another popular attraction is to take a river cruise in one of these long boats. Some seemed rather luxurious and I'm pretty sure they continue up the Rhein river too.

    


Hundreds of people are seen riding bikes along the river. There's a path all along, and there are package deals you ride a few miles each day and stay at hotels along the way. When you arrive in Koblenz the bus drives you and the bikes back to the beginning. Seems like a great vacation to me, but Mom still prefers the kayaking.


  

The drive is slow and beautiful so much to look at on the way, so we made several more stops until MOm finally decide it's time to stop for the night.  

These golden statues were peeking out from a private home? must be artists  

 


The drive is slow and beautiful so much to look at on the way, so we made several more stops until Mom finally decide it's time to stop for the night. Tomorrow she said we'll drive much longer and we will not stop in Koblenz since it's a bigger city. We didn't stop last year either when we drove The Rhine River which meets The Mosel there.................


   


Maybe we'll be in Denmark tomorrow? Mom feels like visiting Copenhagen again, her favorite city, and I'm pretty ok with it too, since I know we'll be biking there. 


Good Night all






Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 juli 2017 17:33

I'm really happy spending time here in Germany today because I don't have to deal with fireworks that frighten me so every year.

 

So, we left Avignon and Mom knew we had to make it to Germany to get the propane filled and that's 480 miles, and a lot of driving on highways which all charge tolls. Mom thought she could drive it all in one day, but she didn't so we stopped at a rest stop and spent one night. Luckily she had found a water boiler that used 12v so at least she got her morning coffee..........lucky me I say, she's no fun to deal with otherwise 

 


On the road someone told her we can get propane in Luxemburg too, so we went there filled up on Diesel but nowhere to find propane, so we continued to Trier. There was a place, but since it's Sunday we had to wait for them to open. 

We spent a great time at a campsite and Mom went out to eat (left me to watch Lucy) where she met a lovely Norweigan couple that she had supper with...............I had to eat alone and nor did I get a taste brought home from her great supper.............She'll be making up for it, because I will NOT forget


 


We were parked next to a tree shaped like a heart ....................we wondered if it's made that way or if it was natural?


 


In the morning we got our propane filled so now we have a kitchen and a stove again............jaayyy said mom and went food shopping.

Then we continued on to next stop driving next to the Mosel River to Bernkastel-Kues where we are now staying for the second night. 

 


It is a slow gorgeous drive through many small villages and miles of vineyards on either side of the river. Mom made many stops just to enjoy the views.

     

The Mosel is a river flowing through France, Luxembourg, and Germany. It is a left tributary of the Rhine, which it joins at Koblenz. We went there last year

The Moselle "twists and turns its way between Trier and Koblenz along one of Germany's most beautiful river valleys."It flows through a region that has been influenced by mankind since it was first cultivated by the Romans. Today, its hillsides are covered by terraced vineyards where some of the best Rieslings grow. Many ruined castles dominate the hilltops above wine villages and towns that line the riverbanks, but there's not as many as it is on the Rhine.

we saw many tractors like this and wondered if they're used to pick the grapes? The hills are so steep I can't even imagine how it's done.

   

It wasn't a very long drive which was really nice, and when I heard Mom buying 2 nights (despite this place unusual expensive) I cheered. It's nice to relax and I assumed it meant a bike ride which it did. We stayed at the side that was Kues, and opposite side of the river was Bernkastel

The first road bridge between Bernkastel and Kues was built between 1872 and 1874, as was the first railway link in 1882 and 1883. In 1891, Bernkastel marked its 600-year jubilee as a town.

The town in its current form came into being on 1 April 1905 through the merger of the two towns. In 1926 there arose great unrest among winemakers along the Moselle, and the financial office in Bernkastel and the customs office in Kues were stormed.

On Kristallnacht (9 November 1938), there were great riots against Jewish inhabitants, and the synagogue was destroyed.

In 1946, the first democratic elections after the second world war were held.

As usual, Mom is up early before the rooster calls even, she says it's the best time of the day before all the tourist start to crowd the towns.

It's very popular to kayak down the river which Mom really would love to do, I'm not convinced I'll like it, but if she goes I go too, like it or not she says................. Bike riding is also very popular since there's a bike path all along the river.

 

   

 

On the way to town, we met these cute babies, little unusual looking ducks we thought. Their parents kept a very close watch so I couldn't get near them to say hello even if Mom would have let me.

 

 


What a beautiful quiet ride along the river I can understand why it's so popular

   

 

We came into town while they're opening the shops, and to Mom's surprise here the shopkeepers swept and scrubbed outside their shops, just like they used to do in Sweden. Lovely Mom said out loud..............

 

 

 

This town is so quaint and so gorgeous, so yes, of course, it'll be crowded later on, but we really enjoyed the morning hours almost alone.

   





     

 

 


The crowds arrived and here's a group with a local showing them around..............he sure looked local Mom said.


 

and as usual I get attention from people who just can't resist my charm.


 


for the first time on this trip Mom actually bought a souvenir....................that's pretty darn good I thought. In this store she caved in and bought something for her garden back in Florida. I can't tell what it is, it's a secret but I can assure you it's very different. 

 

This house seems to be built on what ever space was left ....................it's a bank 


 


We went back to Lucy around lunch and had a "siesta" something Mom picked up in Italy and it means "a nap"..............I kind of like it. Rest of the evening we'll be relaxing looking at the river go by.

Tomorrow is another day..............


All is well 

Buttons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 







Av EvaLena Hallgren - 1 juli 2017 06:32


After 3 days at the same place, it was time to move on and at the gate, we saw this little car pulling a barrel of wine?  One of Mom's friends (Lotta) would really like that, but where does one sleep?

 


It was a little sad to leave this great town, but we're out of propane for the kitchen and that means no coffee for Mom in the morning and THAT'S not a good thing. The connections are completely different here and it's the same in France. Maybe Germany can help?

Mom said maybe one day we come back to this town...........Vallecrosia

We crossed the border into France and this sign is the only way of knowing. Ever since EU there's no passport control 

Again lot's of tunnels and up the mountain and down the mountain. Lucy still going strong.


 


we made camp in Avignon, which is a commune in south-eastern France on the left bank of the Rhine river. Of the 90,194 inhabitants, about 12,000 live in the ancient town center enclosed by its medieval castle walls

 

   

 


Between 1309 and 1377, seven successive popes resided in Avignon. The camp was opposite the castle so all we had to do was walk across the bridge which we did. It's not as hot anymore so walking a bit is ok, but trust me, I only walk as far as I like, then I stop so Mom carry me.

I like this guy, I want a wagon like that..............check out his dog keeping watch from behind............Honestly, though I get a better view from the basket on the front, still this is really cool

   

 

This town had so many narrow alleys you would think no cars allowed, but no they're buzzing around everywhere and they do not stop for pedestrians...............that's another reason I need to be carried at times.

     

in this alley, the car had to stop and wait for the man to unlock his door to get into his home? 

 


having supper on the sidewalk .............Mom would never go for that, she's too prissy 

 

 

This hotel looked more like a prison we thought

 

This guy is very talented Mom thought, but if it looks like the person he's drawing we can't tell. Good thing he was busy while Mom took a picture or he would have talked her into sitting model.

 

 

It can't be easy to be a pizza delivery guy in this town, and he looked confused how to find the address, but all of a sudden a door opened and a lady waved him in. I can't imagine having my front door right at the street 

 

 


This is a Roman Catholic cathedral and is the seat of the Archbishop and built primarily in the second half of the 12th century. The bell tower collapsed in 1405 and was rebuilt in 1425. In 1670-1672 the apse was rebuilt and extended.

   

 


The building was abandoned and allowed to deteriorate during the revolution, but it was reconsecrated in 1822 and restored by the archbishop Célestin Dupont in 1835-1842.The most prominent feature of the cathedral is a gilded statue of the Virgin Mary atop the bell tower which was erected in 1859.The interior contains many works of art, but we didn't bother to go inside. We sat down to rest, and Mom had a small bite to eat and a water. I was too tired to beg for a taste.

   

 

 


This guy looked very tired too, or maybe he was bored sitting there outside the opera year after year

 

 

here's a French biker dude...............again I was glad he didn't see mom taking his picture.

 

 

The town square had a carousel for the little ones.

 

 

the bell tower had a guy with a hammer to bang on the bell every hour.......and I can see up his skirt......hihi............that's different?

 

     

 

next stop is supposed to be Dijon, but I never know, that could change very quicly. 

 

all is well..........................except the propane issue. 

 

   

 

 

 

 





Skapa flashcards