floridatjej

Alla inlägg under augusti 2017

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2017 08:08

We have spent all this silent time in Moms puppy town visiting friends and relatives so there hasn't been much to write to you guys about says Mom and this time I have to agree. 

Yesterday we started the trip south and spent most of the day driving. Mom is cursing the fact she's born so far North and thinks this is the most boring road in the entire universe. She says she knows every turn, every stone, every house on the way, and since I've done it a few times I'm recognizing it too..............Mom says that BS since I'm napping most of the way, she doesn't understand that even if my eyes are closed I register everything going on .............ha

This is the view from our window this morning.

 


Mom has been nagging her cousin Lars to go fishing for years, and he always promised to do so, and this year he followed through................Mom caught the biggest fish, a pike, but she felt it was too slimy to touch.

   


For a short while, Mom took the oars, she says it's like riding a bike, once you learned you know it.............but the strength is not the same I noticed..................Mom calls BS again, she says I wasn't with her when she was a puppy so what do I know......


   


Lars won the Perch competition even if Mom tried to cheat and hold her tiny fish closer to the camera.........


   


being on the water is very exciting I truly enjoy it, and so does Mom. The evening was very quiet, the water still and a nice sunset, although a little chilly

     


On August first I got to experience something I never have seen before ??? All of a sudden it started to snow marbles _???   it didn't last long but it was quite exciting and Mom being the kid she goes outside to play in it..........I thought it was kind of scary...........

 

look at this short film 



 
 

One day we went to an old farm where people show how things were done many years ago, some even before MOm was born ( a really long long time ago)  some were playing a key-fiddle which is a rather complicated instrument.

   


accordions are also very common with the old timers. The people we spoke to were worried all this will disappear since the newer generation aren[t interested in keeping all this alive. This farm is worked by all volunteers so they are probably correct.

I visited with the pigs and a few more farm animals, none of them seemed interested in making my acquaintance.

   


One day when I was left alone in Lucy I almost gave Mom a heart attack, I had made myself real comfortable behind the pillows and she didn't find me, and I didn't answer her call since I wanted her to sweat for leaving me alone. She ran around and called for me outside too? how did she think I opened the door? sometimes she doesn't think very clearly .............

  

This is Fiona, she's a little kitten living with a friend of Moms, she didn't like me at all which is really hard to understand


 


It isn't sunlight all night anymore and it's pretty obvious we're heading towards fall season. This is from an evening walk around 9pm and the sun is on it's way down.   

   

we walked by a pasture with cows (not cows its bulls mom says)  so what, I say the difference is not very easily noticed so I call them all cows. Anyway, this entire herd has harts on their forheads ? that's pretty cool don't you think ?

   

It's now 9 am and we're ready to continue our drive south. Not sure where we'll end up next, but I'll keep you posted.

ALl is well.



Av EvaLena Hallgren - 7 augusti 2017 06:37

It's been a few days since my update so I have to go back a few days and tell about the visit at Moms relatives that have ducks.

I jumped out of Lucy and ran to greet them but that scared them so much I was told not to that again and being the nice guy I am, I didn't.

 



They also had a Turkey that wanted to be close all the time and took any chance she could get to run inside the house. She loved being held by the young daughter and often fell asleep in her lap.


       


There was a car show in this town too. American cars are very popular in Sweden and I think almost every town has a meeting during summer.


                 


girls dress very nicely, 


   


This car is called the cadaver and Mom questioned if it really could pass inspection and supposedly it did. I think these guys are having a lot of fun with it and mostly using it for party time.

 




After the car show Moms relatives went to a party and the young daughter of the house and Mom were home alone, and THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED !!!!!!


   


Following day we went fishing in the lake next to their house. This time Mom didn't get any fish, but for what I can see her heart wasn't really into it.


 


Before we moved on to Moms puppy town she wanted to give the Turkey a good hug, figuring they'll never meet again (cause she'll be meat) Not sure Turkey liked it very much 


 

.

The young girl is going to art school and she showed Mom this painting. She also told her the story behind it, why she chose the colors she did and what it all represented. Mom thought it was absolutely brilliant and was very impressed that a 17-year-old in Sweden knew so much about US politics. I hope she's willing to share her essay so Mom could translate it for you all.


 


Still hanging in Moms puppy town and visiting a lot of old friends. Yesterday we had coffee (fika) with the lady that owned the little convenience store Mom used to shop in from when she was 5 years old. I could tell mom was really excited about that..............and I'm pretty sure it was mutual.

ALl is well.







Av EvaLena Hallgren - 3 augusti 2017 08:35

Since we now are in the part of the country where Mom spent her puppy years, we are doing a lot of visiting, going from one relative to another. 

Continuing my story from a few days back while we were in the small village called Gunnarn

Early one morning while we were still relaxing in Lucy these people had been out in the forest picking our forest gold called cloud berries. Mom refuses to go along since she vividly remembers her puppy years picking these on the swamp where the gnats, mosquitos, and those pesky horse flies lives. Never the less they truly are a delicacy especially warm on ice cream, also very expensive. I didn't think Mom deserved it since she didn't go along but she did get a bag to take home...............and I bet she'll do just like she did last year...........(hid them all the way back in the fridge without sharing)

 


In the afternoon we went fishing at a lake and Maria made supper over a bonfire.............


 


 


this guy, Thomas are the most difficult guy I've met in my entire life. No flirting what so ever soften him up to give me a taste. Lucky for me was that he's also a little sloppy and dropped a few pieces on the ground ;-)


 


We were fishing for perch and the first one they pulled up flopped around and hit me on the head............fishing was very good they said, and they kept about 20. Mom did get a few too, which made her happy as a lark.


       



they had an electric engine to drive the boat, but on the way back we had no more power so Thomas had to row quite a distance. Both Mom and Maria offered to take turns, (Mom wouldn't be that good though) ..............They didn't need to because a happier guy to row is hard to find...............his singing ??? well, not AS good but I'll give him an A for effort..............it would have been better if he remembered more of the lyrics


 


 
 
 
 

At the moment we are at Moms cousins house and she did all of our laundries but before we got here we stopped at yet the place of another relative, and yet another car-show which is very popular here, but I'll continue that story tomorrow (if I can get Mom to help)

All is well. 




Skapa flashcards