floridatjej

Alla inlägg under juni 2010

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 23:57

I did say I was going to try a portrait of Buttons again. This time I used a pattern from a book called Best in show, written by Carol Armstrong.

Still not very good, I realized that background fabric has to be light so it doesn't bleed through.  



I copied the pattern and taped it to the window to copy every little piece to fabric, and than sew by hand turning under.............new

technique for me,so it'll get better next time...the saying is "third time is a charm"
   

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 18:06


 My neighbor found a quilt at a garage sale that inspired me to make a Dresden plate, and it gave me the excuse to buy a new gadget.
With  the Dresden wedge ruler it was a piece of cake,to cut the pieces, and it made a little dent in my scrap bag. I free motioned some scribbled spiral circles, and stitched in the ditch around the squares. Measure 52x66
 
 
pieced the backing with a little leftover sashing.
  quality control of top.

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 17:56


The guy I share the morning papers with, are volunteering at the zoo, and his favorite is giraffes.
Thought I  make him a wall hanging for fathers day. It's from a store bought pattern but with my own twist added. Still not happy with the eye.
 

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 17:43


February I had a delightful visit from the woman that inspired me to start this madness to begin with.
 She's also Swedish, but  lives in London. We spent hours sewing, chatting and of course we visited every single fabric store within a 40 mile radius. I'm fortunate to have access to much less expensive fabric than she has over seas, so she took advantage of that and loaded up, and I don't think I ever been in a fabric store without finding something I needed   
The guys was left on their own (scary thought) while we tested and downloaded several embroidery patterns on my machine. We also made pincushions.
     
mine are now decorating the wall above my sewing machine, since I prefer a magnet for my pins 

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 17:33


I have been sleeping under this USA patriotic quilt for some time now, and felt it was time to show where my hart really is.
This queen size log cabin is the result
Irene at the Boutiqe 4 quilters in Melbourne longarmed it with a wave pattern that looks awesome
 
The binding isn't on yet, but the quality controller is already hard at work.

 

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 17:14


Never ever do I  pass up a fabric sale close to my house.   
Anita at Boutique 4 quilters had a 5 year anniversary, and great deals throughout the week. One day was "buy 5 fat quarters get 5 free." I picked up every single polka dot pattern she had, and this is the result.
Measure 90x75
      The quality controller  hard at work.

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 17:09


paper piecing, a technique I haven't tried yet, but after reading The quilting bible and other books and magazines, I thought I was ready for a try. I wanted to create a picture of Buttons, and I started to draw...........and several hours later I realized I'm not ready for this yet, but I'll get back to it some day, for sure.
Skam den som ger sig heter det ju   
      

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 30 juni 2010 17:05

Had to make one for the green bedroom also, definitley not my favorite, but I'm learning     

Skapa flashcards