floridatjej

Direktlänk till inlägg 6 augusti 2023

SUNDAY 8/6/23

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 6 augusti 2023 06:12

Good morning all, 

I have to tell you that I'm a little upset with Mom because lately, she has been so busy with Aunts and cousins and her friends that I feel a little rejected, but she promised to make up for it this morning.

To go back a few days before we met her aunt our friends took us to a country fair in a village where there is a lock


This lock is part of a waterway 390 km (240 mi) long, linking several lakes and rivers to provide a route from Gothenburg on the west coast to the Baltic Sea. This waterway was dubbed Sweden's Blue Ribbon.

 

The Göta Canal was officially opened on 26 September 1832. However, the return on investment for the canal didn't live up to the hopes of the government, because the original justifications for the canal's construction were the onerous Sound dues imposed by Denmark on all vessels passing through the narrow Oresund channel between Sweden and Denmark. The canal enabled vessels traveling to or from the Baltic Sea to bypass the Oresund and so evade the Danish toll. In 1851, the tycoon Oscar Wallenberg founded the Company for Swedish Canal Steamboat Transit Traffic to carry goods from England to Russia via the canal. However, it only ran two trips before the Crimean War halted Anglo-Russian trade. After the war ended, the great powers pressured Denmark into ending the four-hundred-year-old tradition of the Sound Dues, thus eliminating the canal's usefulness.

 

These days the canal is primarily used as a tourist and recreational attraction. Around two million people visit the canal each year on pleasure cruises - either on their own boats or on one of the many cruise ships - and related activities. The canal sometimes is ironically called the "divorce ditch" because of the troubles that inexperienced couples have to endure while trying to navigate the narrow canal and the many locks by themselves 

    


I only really liked this stand with smoked sausages and reindeer meat and wanted to take a whiff but some lady passing by didn't like me doing that so Mom got scolded for letting me.

 



There was this hot dog shop with my name on but I wasn't allowed inside. What's up with that?


 



Mom and her friends bought shrimp sandwiches and that must be Mom s favorite because this is not her first since we got to Sweden.

 

This super cute little girl was hanging out at our table because she thought I was super cute


 

Mom wished the gas prices today were as good as in this non-active station


I already told you about the long drive through the woods to Mom's Aunt where we stayed a couple of days 

This is an area where cross-country skiing is very popular and a lot of people will not stop even if there's no snow so they invented a ski on wheels.

 

I reluctantly  let Mom's aunt have my seat for a short ride in Lucy


 

She's more than 10 years older than Mom and still walks for an hour every day plus doing aerobics for 15 min. with a lady on TV. I loved the walks even though the weather was crappy. Many clouds spoiled the beautiful view.

 

At lunch, they made these sandwiches with raw fish on them........... I did get a taste of the eggs

 




Aunt Ruth is a day mom for a Tibetan Spaniel named Rulle, he was an ok guy except he tried to dominate me which is not to my liking.

 


 Leaving Ruth we drove another 4 hours looking at another billion trees the only good thing about this drive is there's hardly any traffic. All of sudden something caught Moms eye and she had to turn around and look.

Here in the middle of nowhere was this portrait of

 


 Mom thought that was pretty cool, I got the chance to take a whizz and we continued on 

 


This monument is similar to a traditional Sami hat. The Sámi are the Indigenous people of Northern Europe. Their traditional regions stretch over Northern Sweden and Finland, the North-Western corner of Russia.

Traditionally, the Sámi have pursued a variety of livelihoods, including coastal fishing, fur trapping and sheep herding Their best-known means of livelihood is semi-nomadic reindeer herding. As of 2007, about 10% of the Sámi were connected to reindeer herding, which provides them with meat, fur, and transportation. For traditional, environmental, cultural, and political reasons, reindeer herding is legally reserved for only Sámi in some regions of the Nordic countries

 We finally arrive. I have been here once before and I love love love this home where awesome people and dogs live, and there's lots of property and green grass for me to run free. 

 

 

This time a new guy had moved in, and his name is Elix he liked my tennis balls as much as I do and we had a little tiff about them, so poor Elix got punished for nipping at me. 

 

Once again it's sunny and life is great

I tried very hard to get a taste of Nina's breakfast so I got scolded a little by Mom 

 


At the lake, they have built a nice dock and a sitting area 

 


Yesterday we packed a picnic basket and fishing rods and to both my and Mom's surprise the entire dock was driven out with an electric motor on the lake to a good fishing spot. I did NOT like it, I thought it was scary.

Buster who is a sweet and kind giant loved it and played with the fish before he killed it. He is the bravest guy I know.

 

Mom did catch a pretty big perch on a hook with a worm attached.................scary creature in my opinion, but Buster just couldn't wait to sink his teeth into it and he ate the head........................he did puke later on, and if he would have asked me I could have told him it was a bad idea to eat that spiny slimy thing 

 

 

 

 

 

Mom has once said how she was longing for a great steak so this nice man who's also a terrific cook invited us over for a very delicious meal. I didn't get a taste of the meat but that's ok because this guy also had plenty of special treats for me.


 


The view from his terrace is amazing 

 


Ok, I,m now caught up with my story, and hopefully, Mom won't let this much time pass by before helping me with my story. 

Today's weather is gorgeously sunny and 68F 

Life is GREAT

lots of wet kisses Henry

 







 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 september 2023 08:44

We are getting ready for the long flight back to Florida tomorrow so Mom isn't giving me any time for my story but here are some pictures from Stockholm where we are staying until tomorrow. According to Mom, this is the cleanest city we visited. and ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2023 17:03

 We have been having many sluggish days lately, it's been raining, and Mom was in the mood for a meal she used to love as a puppy. so she's been cooking a real meal for a change. It was very tasty but Mom seemed to have difficulties cooking for one p...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 augusti 2023 19:35

We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise at 4.45 AM It's definitely getting closer to  fall because it's getting dark at night now     Yes, Mom kept her promise and we stayed for a second night at the marina, and on the second day, we had lunch there....

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 augusti 2023 16:41

It hasn't been easy to get Mom to help me with my story, because now Mom got a book that completely mesmerized her. The author is from her puppy town and the story is about a woman's life and struggles to live in Northern Sweden from 1896 to 1985. ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 augusti 2023 08:12

Ever since we arrived in Mom's puppy town she's been sleeping later and later in the mornings, this morning she didn't get up until 7.30, that's a record. I think she's reminiscing back to her teens? Here I'm running after the ball at the same fiel...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards