floridatjej

Direktlänk till inlägg 22 juni 2017

VENICE 6-22

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 22 juni 2017 21:31

Today has been a rough day for both of us, I didn't sleep well again because the Thunder returned and they way it feels right now it may return again tonight. 

It's 90 degrees and no breeze so Mom had the brilliant idea to take the bus in early and get a boat ride to cool off. 

I couldn't bring my stroller nor could we bike in. 

Venice, the capital of northern Italy’s Veneto region, is built on more than 100 small islands in a lagoon in the Adriatic Sea, named after Pennys Dad.......right ?

.    

 

It has no roads, just canals – thus, no stroller.The canals are lined with Renaissance and Gothic palaces but looks like it lost some of the splendor of the past. The central square, Piazza San Marco, contains St. Mark’s Basilica, which is tiled with Byzantine mosaics, and the Campanile bell tower offering views of the city’s red roofs, and NO we didn't bother climbing that tower.

     

The Doges palace, which you can see a replica of at Epcot Center in Orlando, and the tower to

 

As we're walking along the canal I was looking for that guy that serves spaghetti and meatballs to dogs. He plays the accordion too, I've seen the movie................but he only does that to romantic couples, says Mom. Easy, I say I can pick up a girl from the street. For a meatball, I wouldn't be too picky.

Mom looked at other food

   


oh please please pick me up and lay me down up there........Sure but you might get cooked and served on someone's plate then.............No way Mom, this is Italy not #%$^@ you know what I'm saying ;-)

 


To take a break rest and drink some water, Mom ordered this for lunch ?? Nothing there for me? According to her, it was a huge disappointment..............can you spell karma?  but the plate was pretty

 

I think Venice may be sinking because everywhere we looked it seemed like the first floor wasn't used by anyone.

And many houses looked like they are in need of repair.

 

When in Venice you HAVE to ride in a gondola says, Mom, some claims it'sonly for romantic couples but for what I saw that didn't seem to be the truth............In any event, I have a crush on Mom..................so off we went


   

It was ridiculously expensive, and No need to do it again, done is done. Our gondola guy didn't sing, as a matter of fact, he didn't say much of anything.

Some canals were so busy with traffic and it seemed like everybody knew each other. Lots of Chiaos and hollering.

   

half hour and we came back where we started

 


First Rialto bridge was built of timber and was partly burnt in a revolt in 1310. In 1444, it collapsed under the weight of a crowd watching a boat parade and it collapsed again in 1524.

The idea of rebuilding the bridge in stone was first proposed in 1503. Several projects were considered over the following decades. In 1551, the authorities requested proposals for the renewal of the Rialto Bridge, among other things. Plans were offered by famous architects, and all involved a Classical approach with several arches, which was judged inappropriate to the situation. Michelangelo also was considered as a designer of the bridge.

The present stone bridge, is a single span designed by Antonio Da Ponte, was finally completed in 1591. It is similar to the wooden bridge it succeeded. Two inclined ramps lead up to a central portico. On either side of the portico, the covered ramps carry rows of shops but if they still are none was open now. The engineering of the bridge was considered so audacious that another architect predicted future ruin. The bridge has defied its critics to become one of the architectural icons of Venice.

In 2017 police arrested three men, and an unnamed minor, all from Kosovo, on charges of planning to attack the Bridge on behalf of ISIS

 

I like to rapport that this is an international phenomenon.............

 

 

Even the police, looks like she got good news though

 

 

 Hello there, do you know a guy who serves spaghetti and meatballs to dogs and plays the accordion? He said "

Ottieni qui la borsa delle pulci, o ti cuoio per cenas..............I'm pretty sure that meant 2 blocks to the left
 

We sat for a long time at Piazza San Marco people watching, one of Moms favorite past times. And that ok as long as it's in the shade and cool stone to lay on.

 

 

     

 

 


Great sign for? selling umbrellas maybe ?

   

 

this is scary art to me................interesting and fun says, Mom

 

 

 


There were some very talented street performers here and well worth listening to for a while.One guy tuning his "organ" with water, It sounded great 

   


 Hello there, do you know a guy who serves spaghetti and meatballs to dogs and plays the accordion? He said "


Ottieni qui la borsa delle pulci, o ti cuoio per cenas..................and he felt my body?.............wonder what that really means ?

 

It was really too hot and too crowded with people to enjoy this city. Mom was nice enough to carry me so I should not be trampled on, and I appreciate that since she too was very hot, She ended up buying an old lady hat from a street vendor hahaha. I found another friend in the shade, but he was busy playing a game so I didn't ask him for my guy, Maybe I'm in the wrong city?

 


In the early afternoon, we both had enough and found our way back to Lucy via boat and then bus...............

 

 

 

Mom was extremely proud of how well I put up with all this and never did I complain as usual.

I know she felt really guilty for taking me through this so she let me cool off in her bucket she does dishes in, and to top it off I got my favorite treat that Dr. Grigsby told Mom I shouldn't have, (dried chicken wrapped around rawhide)

I know it's not good for me but it still my favorite treat..............mom likes chocolates, and that's not good for her.....

 

 

 

 


see you soon, all is well


 

 










 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 4 september 2023 08:44

We are getting ready for the long flight back to Florida tomorrow so Mom isn't giving me any time for my story but here are some pictures from Stockholm where we are staying until tomorrow. According to Mom, this is the cleanest city we visited. and ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 24 augusti 2023 17:03

 We have been having many sluggish days lately, it's been raining, and Mom was in the mood for a meal she used to love as a puppy. so she's been cooking a real meal for a change. It was very tasty but Mom seemed to have difficulties cooking for one p...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 20 augusti 2023 19:35

We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise at 4.45 AM It's definitely getting closer to  fall because it's getting dark at night now     Yes, Mom kept her promise and we stayed for a second night at the marina, and on the second day, we had lunch there....

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 16 augusti 2023 16:41

It hasn't been easy to get Mom to help me with my story, because now Mom got a book that completely mesmerized her. The author is from her puppy town and the story is about a woman's life and struggles to live in Northern Sweden from 1896 to 1985. ...

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 augusti 2023 08:12

Ever since we arrived in Mom's puppy town she's been sleeping later and later in the mornings, this morning she didn't get up until 7.30, that's a record. I think she's reminiscing back to her teens? Here I'm running after the ball at the same fiel...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards