floridatjej

Alla inlägg den 13 juni 2023

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 13 juni 2023 13:00

It's Tuesday night at 10 pm and we're staying in a little fishing village named Senj. This is our second night here and from what I hear it sounds like we'll be here yet another night. Sounds good to me because this is a great place. Friendly people good restaurant gorgeous sunset, what else do we need asks Mom. Not much I say I'm mostly off-lead and ever so often I venture into the kitchen. Another dog lives there but he's ok with me visiting.

     


I do not like water that moves so I wasn't very happy when Mom made me wash my feet in it. I told her she can go, but no it was too cold for her feet.

Talk about feet, Mom has a very funny-looking toe now, and she blames it on her flip-flops from that day we walked so far. It's presently being healed with saltwater and beer.

 

 


A campers pedicure. 


Mom is dead tired now, so I'll continue this story in the morning.

Good night Henry  



WEDNESDAY MORNING 10AM


There's something very special to be parked right on the edge of the Adriatic Sea going to bed with windows open feeling the breeze listening to the seagulls and the waves breaking on the stonewall just outside the window.

That's Mom's thoughts about where we are now. I like it very much too but most for the close proximity to the restaurant.

 and they have great beer.

 


I take it for granted everybody is willing to share their beer, This almost cost Mom a pint hahahaha 



 



We are in a small town named Senj, it's a city that is more than 3000 years old and is one of the oldest cities in the northern Adriatic. Located by the sea, at the foot of the mountain of Kapela and Velebit which is the biggest mountain in Croatia.

We just happened to find this town and it's so relaxing away from the big city hustle and bustle.

     

This region was used to cross from the inland to the coastal area since ancient times. Greek and Roman geographers, as well as historians, mention a port named Senia where Senj stands today.

  History enthusiasts can visit the historic sights of the fortress Nehaj which is a medieval fortress from the 16th century, a symbol of the town of Senj.

We aren't going up there Mom said and she blamed it on her toe 


 

 

We did walk around in town which is built on a steep hill and has many narrow cobblestone streets 

 

 


 

 

   

 

In the fall of 1943, during WW II when Fascist Italy capitulated, the Partisans took control of Senj and used it as a supply port. Subsequently, the Luftwaffe started bombarding the town. By the end of the year they had demolished over half of the buildings in town and inflicted heavy civilian casualties.

 

 

Modern Senj is a seaside tourist town. Primary industries are fishing, boating, and tourism. The population in settlement of Senj had 4,810 inhabitants.

 

 

This is a very common sight here, especially in the mornings, a bunch of men getting together having their morning coffee, and smoke

 

Fishermen statue 


 


Back with Lucy, it was time to rest that toe 

 


In the evening we decided to try the restaurant and I'm always cool with that BUT TAKE A LOOK AT THIS !!!!!

 


And what the heck is this? where's the beef? 



SERIOUSLY Mom !!!!! What am I supposed to eat?


   


I did not get a taste of those scallops, Mom sucked up every single drop of that, but I did get to taste the squid and it wasn't bad at all, it had the same consistency as some of my chew toys.

In the evening people like to sit on the wall by the water and drink beer (a lot of it) and this time as I'm trying out last night's stunt, a lady gave me my own bowl

 


Well, it looks like we're staying here a third night.

Lazy days doing nothing is a little unusual when it comes to Mom but I'm perfectly fine with it. The water is too cold for Mom and I'm scared of it so there will be no swimming today we'll just lay around looking at the water meeting the mountain and a blue sky.

The temperature has not gone over the 80ies yet and its much cooler at night, in other words, perfect weather


Wet kisses to yaall

Henry





 

 

 

 






Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards