floridatjej

Alla inlägg den 17 juni 2023

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 17 juni 2023 09:28

Thursday morning it was time to leave this relaxing place and move on, and Mom decided we should drive along the coast because it's beautiful she said.

This looks quite exciting, doesn't it?

 


And yes it was beautiful but so many sharp curves that sometimes I think I saw Lucy's behind. Up and down and around the mountains and like that wasn't enough the wind was brutal and grabbed Lucy and kept trying to blow her off the road. I could tell Mom was concentrating on keeping Lucy on the road so she had to stop occasionally to admire the views.

 


I didn't want to go outside, but Mom made me, she said I had to take a whiz. I said If I can fly over the Atlantic without going so I can wait now too.

Can't she tell I'm holding on for dear life to the ground? Mom laughed  and took pictures, which wasn't nice

But then she carried me back to safety in Lucy, and she needed to use all her strength to shut the door.


 

The area where some of the strongest bora winds occur is the Velebit mountain range in Croatia. This seaside mountain chain, spanning 145 km, represents a vast weather and climatic divide between the sharp continental climate of the interior, characterized by significant day/night temperature differences throughout the year, and the Adriatic coast, with a Mediterranean climate. The bora occurs because these two divided weather systems meet and tend to equalize over the mountain range. 

After hours of driving, we happened to see this sign, so we had to stop.

Roads here are quite narrow so Lucy didn't fit in the parking space without having her rear sticking out, so the lady in the restaurant came out to help Mom park more on an angle which Mom tried to avoid since that meant we took up more than one spot, but that was ok lady said

 


Near the towns of Senj, and the southern portal of the Sveti Rok Tunnel in Croatia, it can reach speeds of up to 220 km/h. On 21 December 1998, the speed of a gust on the Maslenica Bridge (north of Zadar) was measured at a record speed of 69 m/s or 248 km/h



 

Mom needed a break from driving so we had lunch and relaxed for a bit



Mom had spaghetti and I'm an expert on how to eat them 


   


A little kitten saw me doing it so she came and wanted to try too 

 


She was a quick study and ate a few under my careful watch


 


After this stop, we continued on to Zadar where the famous sea organ is located............we did go to see it, but it was very disappointing, it made the same sound as when you blow in an empty bottle. and that was IT. This boat? or submarine? comes by to watch this? we weren't amused so we moved on



 


Many beautiful boats were anchored at the dock 


   

Many of the houses reminded us of the communist era, and that felt depressing


 

we walked through the old town and it looked similar to some other old towns in Croatia.


 

   


And yes Mom respected this sign so we didn't look inside, There was no sign about dogs though? like every other church we had seen.

   


Ladies are selling their crocheted items by the church wall

 


Dogs that didn't seem to have an owner came to greet me, but I guess they didn't like me, because they quickly moved on.

This town wasn't all that interesting so we rested for a while and had a drink. (no beer for Mom since she's still driving) but why didn't I get one, I said? 

Because codrivers can't drink either Mom says......

   

We left this town and continued on south, but this time Mom chose the highway so we'll get to the next destination faster.

As usual, when we are on highways Mom gets sleepy really fast so when we saw this bridge she pulled into the rest stop.


 

Sibenik Bridge 

It’s an arch bridge across the Krka River. The bridge is 391 meters long (669 feet) and is 65 meters high (213 feet).



 


It turned out to be a wonderful place to spend the night (for free) and there was a coffee shop that opened at 6 AM so we had a croissant for breakfast. (Mom is missing her rolls with cheese in the morning, but the cheese here is like plastic)

     

We watched a gorgeous sundown and had a peaceful night, maybe because this lady was watching over us?

 

 



It's now 6 am on Sunday. The WiFi slowed down to less speed than a snail has, so Mom lost patience to finish my story last night. 
We are now in a wonderful place close to Trogir and yesterday we took a water taxi into town and it was amazing according to Mom. For me, it's getting too hot and the tourists are invading every possible space here on the coast so I think Mom is replanning our route? 

We met a very nice  British couple in the town we were in before and they came here too so we had dinner together.


 


I don't know today's plans, but I did hear something about a boat ride? 

Mom went swimming yesterday and I think she may want to do that again at the blue lagoon. Fine! as long as she doesn't decide to get me in the water too. It's enough that I had to take a shower this morning. Mom said I was very dirty and there are a lot of prickly seeds, known as burrs or stickers, that latch on and become entangled in my hair, and If left they can cause irritation, pain, and infection and Mom is constantly picking them off me. When they stick to my toes I try to get them off myself, and according to Mom that leaves an even more difficult task to get them off.

Right now I'm taking a nap and hoping Mom will catch up on yesterday too.


Wet kisses to yall

Henry








  

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards