floridatjej

Alla inlägg den 25 juli 2020

Av EvaLena Hallgren - 25 juli 2020 15:46

so in order to catch up to where we are now, I got Mom to keep on writing after her coffee and my whizz 

This is why I'm on the shitlist for awhile .............................hmmm I thought mom was over it already? 

I've been chewing on the straw to her water bottle too ..................at least she got over that 

 

we are now ready to leave this mountain motel where we stayed 2 nights, very reasonable and VERY clean which is super important to my Mom. I even got a bath here ...............she claimed I was dirty too??

 

it still a little cloudy over the mountain area but Mom says we'll be ok, we can't stay here forever and we really need to get down to sea level

 


To continue where I left off............

We left Ouray on the way to Salida a nonstop drive: 166 miles  (267 km) which means driving time: 3 hours, 18 minutes

 but of course, it took us much longer because Mom drives slow and stops a lot to take pictures

     

I thought it was no more switchback roads said Mom, but boy was she wrong .............

       


We are at Monarch pass which is widely considered one of the most scenic in Colorado, offering a panoramic view of the southern end of the Sawatch Range from the summit. During the summer, a tram from the parking lot at the summit carries visitors to the top of Monarch Ridge above the pass (at approximately 12,000 feet (3,700 m) above sea level),(it was closed due to the virus) allowing a wider view of the surrounding peaks. (Mom said the view is fine from here) 

 

     

 

they got some heavy-duty machines to get around in the winter here................

 

 

Mom was going to open her hood too but changed her mind when the guys in the jeeps just glared at her............ha

 

 

The bikers up here seem a little bit different compare to the ones we met before?

 

 

 

No matter how scary it has been (don't think it's over quite yet) for Mom to drive on these roads she says she's glad we did it because the views are so totally amazing, so we often park (Mom can't look while driving) just to take it all in (and for me to relieve myself

   


We're now ready to leave Salida and continue south ............unless Mom changes her mind, which is something you have to get used to traveling with her. That's why I'm the best travel companion because I go along with whatever, although I do wish she would find me more parks with GRASS.............everything here is covered in gravel and sticky little green stuff here and there..... I do not like it

behind that fence looks good to me................but again noooooo no no 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

here's a story about how these little towns came about..............lots of mining then and mostly tourists now

 

SO off we go and hopefully, I'll be writing from New Mexico tomorrow

 

wet kisses to y'all

 

 

 



Av EvaLena Hallgren - 25 juli 2020 12:37

Yesterday was a really bad day...........(for Mom), Mom used up all the power in her PC and when she plugged it in it went poof? and why? somebody had chewed the cord? Oh well, I'm sorry I didn't know it was a big thing? 

Mom thought it still could be fixable in Salida where she found a PC doctor on Thursday. When we got there they were closed because the wifi was gone?

We stayed in a Mountain motel hoping for help first thing Friday morning. We were at the store at 9 AM and Mom was still hopeful it was fixable, but Nooooooo, it was caput. Only shop that sells PCs here was Walmart and the pickings were very slim because of Corona they got no deliveries and homeschooling meant more Pcs sold.

Anyway, she bought what they had and went back to the store hoping pictures could be saved which they did.

While we waited Mom took me to the dog park so I can play ball which was fun for a short time, but the altitude is tiring me quickly and I feel Mom is not in the best of mood, so we found a spot in the shade and took a nap.

After we picked up the new PC Mom spent a lot of time trying to get back everything like it was in the old one, and she wasn't happy because some of the features she was used to didn't exist on this one............oh well I know she'll get over it eventually. By the time she was ready to continue the drive it started to rain and looking at the clouds over the mountains she checked the weather forecast and it said thundershowers. Under no circumstances did we want to get caught driving these roads in this weather so we went back to the motel and got our old room back. Shortly after we got our things in the room all hell broke loose ...........lightning and lots of rain ..........and wifi has gone

Now is five AM and all is well now I think, but it's time for both of us to get down to sea level because this altitude we're on now 7083 ft is exhausting.

So, back to our story...........

We woke up in Silverton and were now ready to drive over the mountain to Ouray and it is only 25 miles in length but takes about 42 minutes. Mom asked natives if it was very scary and they were smiling and said yes it is but the good thing is you'll be driving on the mountainside which sounded good.....so off we go

 

 




 



It was very scary says Mom, I wasn't worried I napped


We finally arrived in Ouray and what a cute little town, Mom got out of the car on shaky knees ready for a walk in a seemingly empty town ( I tried to tell Mom it's empty because most people do not get up with the sun)The city population was 1,000 as of the 2010 census.

           

I met a giant dog and Mom thought he was very cute, I didn't agree at all and didn't even want to say hello

   


All the streets are steep and Mom is out of breath the entire time...............she needs this


 

we parked by the opera house one of the many gorgeous buildings in town



     



Then we ran into the police, and Mom I do know I was wrong chewing on the cable, but please let me go I will not do it again........................promise, Actually, the officer was a very nice guy and he told Mom she's getting 30%less oxygen into her lungs breathing here and that's why she's so tired

 


these little mini Libraries is a great idea Mom thinks but she does not need any books at the moment


 

we're not sure what this place is all about? the decor is a little strange? there was nobody home and it's too early for a beer anyway



     


This guy was having breakfast all by himself, so I decided to join him...........too bad he only had donuts, but I made him share anyway.

   


this is the Colorado flag

 

We have now driven Silverton and Ouray, to Ridgway, the highway that did deliver jaw-dropping vista after vista. It was cut from the side of the mountain and became known as the "Million Dollar Highway". It's one of the most scenic drives in the USA. The road climbs up to 3 very high mountain passes. Coal Bank Pass (10,640 ft /3,240 m); Molas Pass (10,970 ft /3,340 m) and Red Mountain Pass (11,018 ft /3,358 m). Mom googled stories about this road AFTER the drive, which is a good thing because of some gruesome stories she may have changed her mind 

       


houses here are so gorgeous and we found one for sale, but no we do not want to live here. After a couple of hours walking around, we decided to conquer another stretch of mountain roads before we call it a night...............but now I have to go out and take a leak. 

Will continue my story shortly











Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards